This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Ethiopian Airlines Flight 302 Tragedy

Honourable senators, on Saturday, March 9, I, along with a delegation from the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association, which included Senators Munson and Cormier, boarded a plane in Toronto for the long flight to Addis Ababa for a bilateral visit in Ethiopia.

Knowing the route well, I knew that there is always an atmosphere of friendship and discussion on the flight. So it was this time. Many were returning to visit relatives and friends, many were exploring Africa, many were attending conferences and workshops in Nairobi and elsewhere, and many were just coming home.

When we landed, we were welcomed by our embassy as we cleared customs and baggage, but many others continued towards the transit gates. Shortly after, our ambassador to Ethiopia notified us of the fatal crash of Ethiopian Airlines flight ET 302. The crash claimed the lives of all 157 on board, including 18 Canadians, of which some 10 Canadians had transferred from our flight as well as others.

The shock, grief and helplessness gripped us and the Ethiopian nation.

The flight carried citizens from at least 35 countries.

The world reached out in solidarity with Canada, which bore a heavy loss.

The delegation held a memorial meeting for the Canadians, with all embassy staff. Handling grief and caring, the ambassador noted their duty was to the service of Canadians. The delegation was impressed with the professionalism and compassion of all of the members of the embassy staff for the task ahead with the families of those lost and their responsibilities immediately and in the months ahead.

To the families and friends of those Canadians lost, we feel a bond with you, and we will be forever changed. As you struggle to make sense and cope with your loss and grief in trying to come to terms with this tragedy, Canadians mourn with you. The road ahead will not be easy, but rest assured that our memories will not fade.

Throughout our program in Ethiopia, each encounter led to a moment of silence for those lost and shared grief by our Canadian delegation and Ethiopian counterparts. I know all senators and Canadians extend condolences, thoughts and prayers for those who lost family and friends. We are with you and will continue to be with you.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La tragédie du vol 302 d’Ethiopian Airlines

Honorables sénateurs, le samedi 9 mars, j’ai entrepris un long vol depuis Toronto à destination d’Addis-Abeba en compagnie des sénateurs Munson et Cormier et d’une délégation de l’Association parlementaire Canada-Afrique, en vue d’une visite bilatérale en Éthiopie.

Comme je connais bien ce trajet, je savais qu’une ambiance de camaraderie et de discussion régnerait durant le vol, et ce fut bien le cas. Beaucoup d’entre nous retournaient visiter des parents et des amis, d’autres allaient explorer l’Afrique, ou assister à des conférences et à des séminaires à Nairobi ou ailleurs, et beaucoup rentraient simplement chez eux.

À notre arrivée, nous avons été accueillis par notre ambassade alors que nous passions aux douanes et récupérions nos bagages, mais beaucoup d’autres personnes ont poursuivi leur voyage en se rendant vers d’autres portes d’embarquement. Peu de temps après, l’ambassadeur canadien en Éthiopie nous a informés de l’écrasement fatal du vol 302 de l’Ethiopian Airlines, qui a tué toutes les 157 personnes à bord, y compris 18 Canadiens, dont 10 avaient été à bord de notre avion.

Tout comme la nation éthiopienne, nous avons été saisis par le choc, la douleur et l’impuissance.

Le vol transportait des passagers d’au moins 35 pays.

Le monde a manifesté sa solidarité envers le Canada, qui a subi une lourde perte.

La délégation a tenu avec tout le personnel de l’ambassade une réunion commémorative à la mémoire des Canadiens disparus. L’ambassadeur a souligné que le devoir de l’ambassade était de servir avec compassion les Canadiens dans le deuil. La délégation a été impressionnée par le professionnalisme et la compassion de tous les membres du personnel de l’ambassade qui vont aider les familles des personnes disparues et s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités immédiates et dans les mois à venir.

Je tiens à dire aux familles et aux amis des Canadiens disparus que nous sommes de tout cœur avec eux et que nous sommes à jamais changés. Alors que vous tentez de comprendre ce qui s’est passé et de composer avec la perte que vous avez subie à la suite de cette tragédie, sachez que les Canadiens sont avec vous. Le chemin à parcourir ne sera pas facile, mais soyez assurés que leur mémoire perdurera.

Lors de chaque rencontre que nous avons eue en Éthiopie, un moment de silence a été observé en l’honneur des personnes disparues, pour pleurer leur perte avec nos homologues éthiopiens. Je sais que les sénateurs et les Canadiens offrent leurs condoléances, leurs pensées et leurs prières à ceux qui ont perdu des membres de leur famille et des amis. Nous sommes avec vous et nous continuerons de l’être.