This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk marks Ukrainian Independence Day

Ottawa, Ontario

“Twenty-seven years ago, the people of Ukraine declared their independence,” stated Senator Andreychuk. “Today, as we acknowledge this achievement, we reaffirm support for the rights and personal freedoms of all Ukrainian citizens to engage in open discourse, free from intimidation and imprisonment.”

“Across the occupied territories of Ukraine, arbitrary arrests and detentions are applied by the Russian Federation to silence dissenting voices,” continued Senator Andreychuk. “The imprisonment of Oleg Sentsov illustrates this significant lack of due process and rule of law.”

Oleg Sentsov is a Ukrainian filmmaker serving a twenty year sentence based on unsubstantiated charges of terrorism.  He was detained by Russian officials following his active participation in the protests against Russia’s illegal annexation of Crimea in March 2014. Mr. Sentsov declared a hunger strike over 100 days ago.

“Canada must continue to support Ukraine’s independence, and to call for the immediate release of Oleg Sentsov, along with all others illegally detained by Russia.”

Contact
Zenia Turkewych Miner 
613 947 2239

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk souligne le Jour de l’indépendance de l’Ukraine

Ottawa, Ontario

« Il y a 27 ans, le peuple ukrainien a déclaré son indépendance, a affirmé la sénatrice Andreychuk. Aujourd’hui, en reconnaissant cette réalisation, nous réitérons notre soutien envers les droits et les libertés individuelles de tous les citoyens ukrainiens de discuter librement, sans menace d’intimidation ou d’emprisonnement. »

« Sur les territoires occupés en Ukraine, la Fédération de Russie procède à des arrestations et à des détentions arbitraires pour faire taire les voix dissidentes, a dit la sénatrice Andreychuk. L’emprisonnement d’Oleg Sentsov démontre bien l’absence d’application régulière de la loi et de la primauté du droit. »

Oleg Sentsov est un cinéaste ukrainien condamné à vingt ans de prison après avoir été accusé sans fondement de terrorisme. Il a été détenu par les autorités russes après avoir participé activement aux manifestations contre l’annexion illégale de la Crimée par la Russie en mars 2014. M. Sentsov a amorcé une grève de la faim il y a plus de 100 jours.  

« Le Canada doit continuer d’appuyer l’indépendance de l’Ukraine et demander la libération immédiate d’Oleg Sentsov et des autres prisonniers détenus illégalement par la Russie. »

Personne-ressource
Zenia Turkewych Miner 
613-947-2239