This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk Commemorates the Chornobyl Nuclear Disaster

Ottawa, Ontario – On April 26, 2018, Senator Raynell Andreychuk marked the anniversary of the Chornobyl nuclear disaster in Ukraine.

“Thirty-two years ago, an explosion at the Chornobyl nuclear power plant near the Ukrainian town of Pripyat exposed countless individuals to vast amounts of toxic, radioactive material,” said Senator Andreychuk.  

“Recognized today as one of the largest nuclear power plant disasters in history, the legacy of Chornobyl continues to manifest in adverse health and environmental effects across Ukraine and Belarus.”

“On this anniversary, we remember the men, women and children who lost their lives as a result of direct exposure to radiation,” continued Senator Andreychuk.  “We reaffirm support for the survivors who continue to battle serious health complications.”

“We call on all countries to exercise vigilance and commitment to nuclear safety.”

Contact

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Office of the Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator

613 947 2239

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk souligne la catastrophe nucléaire de Tchernobyl

Ottawa, Ontario – Le 26 avril 2018, la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk a souligné l’anniversaire de la catastrophe nucléaire de Tchernobyl, en Ukraine.

« Il y a trente-deux ans, une explosion survenue à la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, à proximité de la ville ukrainienne de Pripiat, a exposé d’innombrables résidents à de grandes quantités de matériel toxique et radioactif », a rappelé la sénatrice Andreychuk.

« La catastrophe de Tchernobyl, reconnue aujourd’hui comme l’une des plus importantes catastrophes à jamais avoir eu lieu dans une centrale nucléaire, a laissé une empreinte durable. De fait, elle continue de se manifester dans les problèmes de santé et les effets environnementaux observés en Ukraine et au Belarus. »

« En cet anniversaire, nous nous souvenons des hommes, des femmes et des enfants qui ont perdu la vie après avoir été exposés directement à la radiation. Nous réaffirmons notre soutien aux survivants qui éprouvent toujours de graves problèmes de santé. »

«Nous réclamons a toutes pays au tour du monde de réaffirmer leur engagement à la sécurité nucléaire. »

Personne-ressource

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Bureau de l’honorable Raynell Andreychuk, sénatrice

613 947 2239