This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk awarded the Gold Award of Merit by the Estonian Central Council in Canada

On February 24, 2018, Senator A. Raynell Andreychuk was presented the Gold Award of Merit by the Estonian Central Council in Canada

“The Estonian community in Canada is thankful for the open door that Senator Andreychuk has always offered for our communities, and specifically for organizing and hosting countless Baltic Nights on Parliament Hill”, said Council President Marcus Kolga. “Most recently, the Senator took the legislative lead in introducing and unanimously passing Canada’s global human rights Magnitsky law this past October.”

Mr. Kolga, who presented the award at a celebration marking Estonian Independence Day in Toronto, went on to highlight Senator Andreychuk’s lifelong commitment to the defence of democracy and freedom in the Baltic states and Europe.

“I was privileged to work with the Estonian community in Canada on their many achievements and am deeply honoured to receive the Gold Award of Merit,” said Senator Andreychuk. “The timing is particularly meaningful as we gather to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Estonian independence.”  

Contact

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Office of the Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator

613-947-2239

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk se voit décerner le prix Or du mérite par le

Le 24 février 2018, la sénatrice A. Raynell Andreychuk a reçu le prix Or du mérite du Conseil central d’Estonie au Canada.

« Le Conseil central d’Estonie au Canada est reconnaissant envers la sénatrice Andreychuk de l’accueil qu’elle a toujours offert à nos communautés, et surtout d’avoir organisé et présidé d’innombrables soirées baltes sur la Colline du Parlement, a déclaré le président du Conseil Marcus Kolga. En octobre dernier, la sénatrice a pris l’initiative de présenter et de faire adopter à l’unanimité la loi Magnitski canadienne de protection des droits de la personne à l’échelle internationale. »

M. Kolga, qui a remis ce prix à l’occasion d’une fête en l’honneur de la Journée de l’indépendance de l’Estonie à Toronto, a souligné ensuite l’engagement de longue date de la sénatrice Andreychuk envers la défense de la démocratie et de la liberté dans les pays baltes et en Europe.

« J'ai eu le privilège de travailler avec la communauté estonienne au Canada et je suis profondément honorée de recevoir le prix Or du mérite, a affirmé la sénatrice Andreychuk. Le moment est particulièrement bien choisi en cette célébration du centenaire de l’indépendance estonienne. »

Renseignements

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Bureau de l’honorable Raynell Andreychuk, sénatrice

613-947-2239