This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Bill (Sergei Magnitsky Law) - Third Reading

Honourable senators, I rise to speak at third reading tonight on Bill S-226, the "justice for victims of corrupt foreign officials act," the Sergei Magnitsky law. This bill has been before the Senate for quite some time. This was done purposely so that people both outside and within the Senate could learn more about the issue of the bill and what it intends to do.

After some considerable time, with the efforts of the Foreign Affairs Committee, which had studied issues about corrupt officials, particularly about the Magnitsky act, the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Committee have done their work. We exhaustively studied it, reflected on it and it has come before us now on third reading.

For decades, Canada has been present in the process of establishing international treaties and agreements on issues of the protection and promotion of internationally recognized human rights. Bill S-226 builds on that record. The purpose of the bill, as the summary states, is

. . . to provide for the taking of restrictive measures in respect of foreign nationals responsible for gross violations of internationally recognized human rights.

Clause 4 of Bill S-226 enables the Governor-in-Council to make orders or regulations allowing for the assets and property of foreign nationals to be seized, frozen or sequestered if those foreign nationals are deemed responsible for or complicit in gross violations of internationally recognized human rights. Orders and regulations may only be imposed when the Governor-in-Council is satisfied that reliable and appropriate evidence has been provided.

Bill S-226 also proposes related amendments to the Special Economic Measures Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. The bill amends section 4 of the Special Economic Measures Act to include "responsibility for or complicity in extrajudicial killings, torture or other gross violations of internationally recognized human rights committed against any individual in any foreign country." Effectively, this would add a sanction provision for gross violations of internationally recognized human rights to the act.

Further, Bill S-226 amends subsection 35(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to render any permanent resident or foreign national inadmissible if found engaging in or instigating any of the violations I just mentioned.

Senators may recall that Bill S-226 is inspired by the case of Sergei Magnitsky, a Russian lawyer who sacrificed his life in the pursuit of exposing corrupt officials within his own country. While working for an American investment firm in 2008, Mr. Magnitsky uncovered a tax corruption scheme in which a number of government officials from the interior ministry were implicated.

Following his testimony, Mr. Magnitsky was arrested on comparable accusations of tax fraud. While in prison, Mr. Magnitsky was subjected to torture, ill treatment and was repeatedly denied proper medical treatment. He died in pretrial custody on November 16, 2009, at the age of 37.

To date, the pursuit of justice for Sergei Magnitsky continues with great difficulty. Last month, Mr. Nikolai Gorokhov, a lawyer representing the Magnitsky family, fell from the fourth floor of an apartment building near Moscow in extremely suspicious circumstances. His fall took place a day prior to his scheduled appearance before a Russian court to launch an appeal on behalf of Mr. Magnitsky's mother in an investigation related to Mr. Magnitsky's case. Gorokhov sustained severe injuries but, hopefully, he is recovering.

In part, the bill before you today would seek justice for Mr. Sergei Magnitsky. However, beyond that, Bill S-226 would enable Canada to contribute to the protection and promotion of internationally recognized human rights and freedoms here at home.

I would like to reiterate a few earlier points from the speech I delivered at second reading.

First, Bill S-226 would allow the Canadian government to indicate internationally that human rights are as important to our foreign policy framework as other pillars, such as terrorism and matters of security. Second, Bill S-226 would signal internationally that Canada cannot be used to enable or shelter gross violators of internationally recognized human rights. Third, when enacted, Bill S-226 would place a discretionary tool immediately at the Canadian government's disposal in the pursuit of its foreign policy goals. This tool would become readily available, giving our government the means to respond to evolving international crises in a timely manner.

I would like to once again place on the record a quote from Mr. Vladimir Kara-Murza, Deputy Leader of the People's Freedom Party and coordinator of the Open Russia movement. In an article published by The Globe and Mail on March 10, 2016, he stated:

For all the similarities between the Soviet era and present-day Russia, there is one major difference. While members of the Soviet Politburo were silencing dissent and persecuting opponents, they did not store their money, educate their children or buy real estate in the West. Many of the current officials and Kremlin-connected oligarchs do.

Bill S-226 will ensure that individual perpetrators of gross violations of internationally recognized human rights do not use Canada to shield themselves or their ill-gotten gains.

During our study of Bill S-226, the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade heard testimony from Mr. Bill Browder, head of the international justice campaign for Sergei Magnitsky and author of Red Notice. In the pursuit of justice, on behalf of his former lawyer, Mr. Browder and a team of investigators tracked $230 million implicated in the corruption scheme uncovered by Mr. Magnitsky.

An article published by The Globe and Mail on October 27, 2016, disclosed the following findings.

Hermitage investigators found total transfers of $220,000 (U.S.) from two firms that received the proceeds of the fraud to four companies and individuals in Canada, and $1.5 million (U.S.) in wires to Canadian accounts from companies that were part of an alleged money-laundering network set up by the fraudsters. The investigation also identified $12.6 million (U.S.) in transfers from Canadian accounts linked to the network.

These findings reinforce the urgent and apparent need for Bill S-226 in Canada.

In adopting this legislation, Canada would join other jurisdictions who have undertaken similar actions. At second reading, I noted a number of these actions. Since then, I note the actions of other countries.

In December 2016, the Estonian Parliament unanimously adopted a Magnitsky amendment to its 1998 Obligation to Leave and Prohibition on Entry Act to prohibit the entry of those deemed responsible for human rights violations.

On December 8, 2016, the United States Congress extended the scope of its 2012 Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act with the adoption of the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act.

Similarly, a Magnitsky amendment to the Criminal Finances Bill was adopted by the British House of Commons on February 21, 2017, to be studied shortly by the British House of Lords. This amendment would enable the government to freeze the assets of those responsible for human rights abuses.

Passing Bill S-226 would build on actions already taken by both the Senate and the House of Commons.

In May 2015, this chamber adopted a motion calling on the government to seek justice for Sergei Magnitsky and to take action against perpetrators of human rights violations in Russia and beyond. A corresponding motion was unanimously adopted in the House of Commons.

In March 2016, the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade heard testimony from Ms. Zhana Nemtsova. In her appearance, Ms. Nemtsova recounted the death of her father, Boris Nemtsov, a prominent Russian opposition leader who was assassinated in Moscow in February 2015. Mr. Vladimir Kara-Murza described how he fell gravely ill in May 2015, likely from ingesting poison.

Honourable senators may be aware that Mr. Kara-Murza suffered a second serious organ failure this past February, reportedly due to poisoning by an unidentified substance. Mr. Kara-Murza has since then emerged from his coma and is slowly recovering; however, doctors have cautioned that he is unlikely to survive any third attempt on his life.

This testimony led to the adoption in the Senate of the committee's second report, Taking Action Against Human Rights Violators in Russia. Our report, and I remind you, indicated:

The Committee calls on the Government of Canada to condemn all foreign nationals implicated in the Magnitsky case and to impose sanctions against those individuals and others responsible for violations of internationally recognized human rights in a foreign country, particularly when authorities in that country are unable or unwilling to conduct a thorough, independent and objective investigation of the violations.

It should be also noted that all major political parties pledged to pass the Magnitsky bill during the last election.

The Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade undertook a review of the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act and the Special Economic Measures Act in April 2016. That committee's final report entitled A Coherent and Effective Approach to Canada's Sanctions Regimes: Sergei Magnitsky and Beyond was tabled last week.

Committee members across all parties unanimously recommended the following:

In honour of Sergei Magnitsky, the Government of Canada should amend the Special Economic Measures Act to expand the scope under which sanctions measures can be enacted, including in cases of gross human rights violations.

The committee further recommended that the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act be amended to "designate all individuals listed by regulations under the Special Economic Measures Act as inadmissible to Canada."

Honourable senators, these actions lay the foundation for the adoption of Bill S-226.

I want to underscore that while I have concentrated on Sergei Magnitsky, it is only by way of example and in honour of Mr. Magnitsky and thousands of others around the world who stand up against corruption and pay with their lives. We in Canada are never called to that extent, usually, for our beliefs on human rights.

The bill is crafted to be a generic bill. It is in honour of Mr. Magnitsky, but it is not targeted to any particular country or individual at this time. It is targeted to allow a discretionary tool in the hands of the government. By an order-in-council the government will have the authority as to how they implement this bill.

It will be controlled under Article 4 to determine what internationally recognized violations of human rights are. It is discretionary for them, to be available for them immediately, but not necessarily used if, in fact, other issues of foreign policy deem it to be more important. The discretion remains in the hands of the government. It is meant to be a tool. It is meant to put human rights on the same level as every other pillar of foreign policy, but it allows the government the flexibility and the discretion to use it when and how it deems appropriate in the best interests of Canada.

It signals that what we preach about human rights when we go overseas and into the United Nations, we are delivering at home. It may be a tool and a necessary one. It will be an available tool, but more than that it is a signal of the importance of human rights. I am very pleased that the reception so far to a generic bill rather than a pointed bill has been favourably received in many quarters.

If we proceed with this bill, the minister and the government would have before them the report from the House of Commons and our generic bill to contemplate what changes, if any, it needs. This bill is not being presented as a fait accompli, where every word is measured, because there are value judgments in there. Most of the value judgments are for the government. The one value judgment that is not there is that we must adhere to international standards, standards that we helped deliver to an international order and ones that we maintain today at a time when many other countries are less than certain that the international order is important. It would signal that Canada maintains that these international rights are at the core of Canadian values.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Projet de loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (loi de Sergueï Magnitski) -Troisième lecture

Honorables sénateurs, je prends la parole ce soir à l'étape de la troisième lecture du projet de loi S-226, la « Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus », ou loi de Sergueï Magnitski. Le Sénat a pris vraiment beaucoup de temps pour étudier ce projet de loi et il l'a fait à dessein. Il fallait que les gens, dans cette enceinte et à l'extérieur de celle-ci, puissent avoir le temps de comprendre la question visée par le projet de loi et ce qu'il prévoit pour y répondre.

Après tout ce temps, et beaucoup d'efforts, les membres du Comité des affaires étrangères et du commerce international, qui avait déjà étudié des questions concernant les dirigeants corrompus, notamment quant à la loi Magnitski, ont fait leur travail. Nous avons examiné la question en détail, nous y avons réfléchi, et maintenant, elle nous revient à l'étape de la troisième lecture.

Depuis des décennies, le Canada participe à la mise en place d'ententes et de traités internationaux visant la protection et la promotion des droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale. Le projet de loi S-226 s'appuie sur cette tradition. L'objectif du projet de loi, comme son sommaire l'indique, est le suivant :

[...] de prévoir la prise de mesures restrictives contre les étrangers responsables de violations graves de droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale.

L'article 4 du projet de loi S-226 autorise le gouverneur en conseil à prendre un décret ou un règlement permettant de saisir, de bloquer ou de mettre sous séquestre les biens des ressortissants étrangers responsables ou complices de violations des droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale. Le décret ou le règlement peut être pris uniquement si le gouverneur en conseil est convaincu que des éléments de preuve dignes de foi ont été présentés.

Le projet de loi S-226 propose aussi des modifications connexes de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés. Il modifie l'article 4 de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales pour y inclure les individus responsables « de meurtres extrajudiciaires, de torture ou d'autres violations graves de droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale contre des personnes dans un pays étranger ». Dans les faits, on ajouterait ainsi à la loi une disposition permettant d'imposer des sanctions contre les violations flagrantes des droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale.

En outre, le projet de loi S-226 modifie le paragraphe 35(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés afin de déclarer inadmissible un résident permanent ou un ressortissant étranger s'il a commis les violations que je viens d'indiquer ou s'il en a été l'instigateur.

Les sénateurs se rappellent peut-être que la source d'inspiration qui a conduit à la rédaction du projet de loi S-226 est l'avocat russe Sergueï Magnitski, qui a sacrifié sa vie pour lutter contre des fonctionnaires corrompus dans son pays. Tandis qu'il travaillait pour une société d'investissement américaine en 2008, M. Magnitski a découvert un stratagème de fraude fiscale auquel étaient mêlés un certain nombre de fonctionnaires du ministère de l'Intérieur.

Après avoir témoigné, M. Magnitski a été arrêté, et des accusations de fraude fiscale semblable à celle qu'il avait dénoncée ont été portées contre lui. Tandis qu'il était en prison, M. Magnitski a été soumis à de la torture et des mauvais traitements. On lui a plusieurs fois refusé les traitements médicaux dont il avait besoin. Il est mort en détention avant son procès, le 16 novembre 2009, à l'âge de 37 ans.

La quête de justice pour Sergueï Magnitski se poursuit avec beaucoup de difficulté. Le mois dernier, M. Nikolaï Gorokhov, un avocat représentant la famille Magnitski, a fait une chute du quatrième étage d'un immeuble à appartements de Moscou, dans des circonstances extrêmement suspectes. C'est arrivé la veille du jour où il devait s'adresser à un tribunal russe pour faire appel au nom de la mère de M. Magnitski, dans une enquête liée à l'affaire Magnitski. M. Gorokhov a subi de graves blessures mais, heureusement, il est en train de s'en remettre.

Le projet de loi dont vous êtes saisis aujourd'hui permettra que justice soit faite à Sergeï Magnitski. Toutefois, au-delà de cela, le projet de loi S-226 permettra au Canada de contribuer à la protection et à la promotion des droits de la personne et des libertés reconnues à l'échelle internationale ici au Canada.

J'aimerais réitérer quelques points que j'avais soulevés dans un discours prononcé à l'étape de la deuxième lecture.

Tout d'abord, le projet de loi S-226 permettra au gouvernement canadien de montrer à la communauté internationale que les droits de la personne ont un rôle tout aussi important dans notre politique étrangère que le terrorisme et d'autres questions de sécurité. De plus, le projet de loi S-226 enverra le signal à la communauté internationale que le Canada ne servira pas de refuge pour les personnes coupables de graves violations des droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale. En outre, quand le projet de loi S-26 entrera en vigueur, il donnera au gouvernement du Canada un outil discrétionnaire pour l'aider à atteindre ses objectifs de politique étrangère. Cet outil sera dès lors disponible et donnera au gouvernement les moyens de répondre dans les meilleurs délais aux crises internationales en évolution.

J'aimerais également consigner à nouveau au compte rendu une citation de Vladimir Kara-Murza, qui est chef adjoint du Parti de la liberté du peuple et coordonnateur du mouvement Russie ouverte. Il a fait remarquer ce qui suit dans un article paru dans le Globe and Mail le 10 mars 2016 :

Malgré toutes les similitudes que l'on constate entre l'ère soviétique et la Russie d'aujourd'hui, il y a entre les deux une grande différence : les membres du Politburo soviétique faisaient peut-être taire la dissension et ils persécutaient sans doute leurs opposants, mais ils ne se tournaient pas vers l'Occident pour y placer leur argent, y faire instruire leurs enfants ou y acheter des biens immobiliers. Or, c'est ce que font actuellement bon nombre de représentants de l'État et d'oligarques liés au Kremlin.

Le projet de loi S-226 veillera à ce que les auteurs de violations graves de droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale ne se servent pas du Canada comme d'un asile pour eux et leurs biens mal acquis.

Lors de l'étude du projet de loi S-226, le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international a entendu le témoignage de Bill Browder, directeur de la campagne internationale Justice pour Sergueï Magnitski et auteur du livre Notice rouge. Dans sa quête de justice pour son ancien avocat, Bill Browder et une équipe d'enquêteurs ont retracé 230 millions de dollars impliqués dans un stratagème de corruption qui avait été découvert par Sergueï Magnitski.

Un article paru dans le Globe and Mail du 27 octobre 2016 a révélé les conclusions suivantes.

Les enquêteurs de la société Hermitage ont découvert que deux entreprises ayant reçu les produits de la fraude ont transféré en tout 220 000 dollars américains à quatre entreprises et particuliers au Canada, et que des compagnies faisant partie d'un présumé réseau de blanchiment d'argent mis sur pied par les fraudeurs ont viré 1,5 million de dollars américains dans des comptes canadiens. L'enquête a aussi dévoilé des transferts d'une valeur de 12,6 millions de dollars américains provenant de comptes canadiens liés au réseau.

Les résultats de l'enquête montrent que le Canada a un besoin urgent et évident d'une mesure législative comme le projet de loi S-226.

En adoptant ce projet de loi, le Canada se joindrait aux autres pays qui ont pris des initiatives similaires. À l'étape de la deuxième lecture, j'ai énuméré quelques-unes de ces initiatives. Depuis, je prends note des mesures prises par d'autres pays.

Par exemple, en décembre 2016, le Parlement estonien a adopté à l'unanimité un amendement Magnitski à sa loi de 1998 relative à l'obligation de quitter le territoire et à l'interdiction d'entrée sur le territoire, qui interdit l'entrée au pays de personnes jugées responsables de violations des droits de la personne.

Le 8 décembre 2016, le Congrès américain a étendu la portée de la Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act, une loi qui avait été adoptée en 2012, en adoptant la Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act.

Dans le même ordre d'idées, la Chambre des communes britannique a apporté un amendement Magnitski à son projet de loi sur le financement des activités criminelles le 21 février 2017. Cet amendement, qui sera étudié bientôt par la Chambre des lords, permettrait au gouvernement britannique de geler les avoirs des personnes qui ont commis des violations des droits de la personne.

L'adoption du projet de loi S-226 s'ajouterait aux mesures déjà prises par le Sénat et la Chambre des communes.

En mai 2015, le Sénat a adopté une motion qui demandait au gouvernement du Canada de réclamer justice pour Sergueï Magnitski et d'agir contre les auteurs de violations des droits de la personne en Russie et ailleurs dans le monde. Une motion semblable a été adoptée à l'unanimité à la Chambre des communes.

En mars 2016, le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international a entendu le témoignage de Mme Zhana Nemtsova. Lors de sa comparution, Mme Nemtsova a raconté la mort de son père, Boris Nemtsov, un leader de l'opposition russe en vue qui a été assassiné à Moscou en février 2015. M. Vladimir Kara-Murza a expliqué comment il est tombé gravement malade en mai 2015, probablement après avoir ingéré un poison.

Les honorables sénateurs savent peut-être que, en février dernier, M. Kara-Murza a souffert d'une deuxième défaillance d'organes grave qui aurait été causée par une intoxication d'origine inconnue. M. Kara-Murza est depuis sorti du coma et récupère lentement; toutefois, les médecins l'ont prévenu qu'il est peu probable qu'il survivrait à un troisième attentat.

Ce témoignage a mené à l'adoption, au Sénat, du deuxième rapport du comité, intitulé Agir contre ceux qui violent les droits de la personne en Russie. Je vous rappelle que, dans notre rapport, il est écrit :

Le Comité demande donc au gouvernement du Canada de condamner tous les ressortissants étrangers impliqués dans l'affaire Magnitski et d'imposer des sanctions à ces personnes et à d'autres responsables de violations, à l'étranger, des droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale, particulièrement lorsque les autorités de leur pays ne peuvent ou ne veulent pas enquêter sur ces violations de façon rigoureuse, indépendante et objective.

Il convient de souligner que tous les grands partis politiques se sont engagés à adopter le projet de loi de Sergueï Magnitsky lors de la campagne électorale.

En avril 2016, le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international a entrepris une étude de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus et de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Son rapport final, intitulé Un cadre cohérent et efficace au régime de sanctions du Canada : Sergueï Magnitski et au-delà, a été déposé la semaine dernière.

Les membres du comité de tous les partis ont voté à l'unanimité en faveur de la recommandation suivante :

En l'honneur de Sergueï Magnitski, le gouvernement du Canada devrait modifier la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales afin d'élargir les critères en vertu desquels des sanctions peuvent être prises, par exemple en cas de violations graves des droits de la personne.

Le comité a aussi recommandé que la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés soit modifiée afin que « toutes les personnes désignées par un règlement pris en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales soient interdites de territoire au Canada ».

Honorables sénateurs, voilà qui ouvre la voie à l'adoption du projet de loi S-226.

Je tiens à souligner que, même si j'ai mis l'accent sur Sergueï Magnitski, c'est seulement pour lui rendre hommage, à lui et aux milliers d'autres de par le monde qui luttent contre la corruption au risque de leur vie. Au Canada, ceux qui défendent les droits de la personne ont rarement à payer un tel prix.

Le projet de loi est rédigé de manière générique. Il porte le nom M. Magnitski en son honneur, mais il ne cible aucun pays et aucune personne en particulier. Il est rédigé de manière à laisser une certaine marge de manœuvre au gouvernement, qui pourra en effet décider par décret comment il sera mis en œuvre.

L'article 4 lui permet de déterminer en quoi consistent les violations graves de droits de la personne reconnus à l'échelle internationale. S'il le souhaite, il pourra l'invoquer dès maintenant, ou encore attendre s'il juge que d'autres questions de politique étrangère sont plus importantes. La décision appartient entièrement au gouvernement. Ce projet de loi se veut un outil destiné au gouvernement afin que les droits de la personne soient au même niveau que les autres piliers de la politique étrangère, mais il lui laisse le choix de l'utiliser quand bon lui semble et au moment qu'il juge le plus approprié pour les intérêts du Canada.

Il montre toutefois que ce que nous prêchons à l'étranger et aux Nations Unies concernant le respect des droits de la personne, nous l'appliquons nous-mêmes chez nous. Il s'agit d'un outil, mais d'un outil nécessaire. Outre le fait qu'il sera à la disposition du gouvernement, il constituera une preuve de l'importance que nous accordons aux droits de la personne. Je suis ravie de voir que, jusqu'ici, les gens ont réagi très favorablement au fait que nous ayons préféré un projet de loi générique à un autre plus pointu.

Je crois que la ministre et le gouvernement pourront utiliser le rapport de la Chambre des communes et ce projet de loi générique — si nous l'adoptons — pour envisager des changements, s'il y a lieu. Ce projet de loi n'est pas présenté comme un fait accompli, où tous les mots sont mesurés, car il contient des jugements de valeur. La plupart de ces jugements de valeur sont destinés au gouvernement. Le seul jugement de valeur qui n'est pas inscrit dans le projet de loi, c'est l'obligation qui nous revient de respecter les normes internationales. Nous avons contribué à faire en sorte que ces normes établissent un ordre international et nous devons nous y conformer à une époque, où, dans de nombreux pays, cet ordre international ne semble pas très important. Cela enverrait le message que le Canada maintient que ces droits internationaux sont au cœur même de ses valeurs.