This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Study on the Steps Being Taken to Facilitate the Integration of Newly-Arrived Syrian Refugees and to Address the Challenges They are Facing

Fifth Report of Human Rights Committee and Request for Government Response Adopted

On the Order:

Resuming debate on the motion of the Honourable Senator Munson, seconded by the Honourable Senator Cordy:

That the fifth report, Finding Refuge in Canada: A Syrian Resettlement Story, of the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights, deposited with the Clerk of the Senate on Tuesday, December 6, 2016, be adopted and that, pursuant to rule 12-24(1), the Senate request a complete and detailed response from the government, with the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship being identified as minister responsible for responding to the report, in consultation with the Minister of National Revenue.

Hon. A. Raynell Andreychuk: Honourable senators, first, I am going to apologize for speaking twice today. I think I have more voice today than I will have tomorrow. I also promised the chair and the deputy chair that I will move forthwith on this report.

I rise to make a few remarks regarding the fifth report of the Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights, Finding Refuge in Canada: A Syrian Resettlement Story.

Our committee chair, Senator Munson, and deputy chair, Senator Ataullahjan, expertly outlined the report's key findings earlier. They drew the Senate's attention to the fact that the report was a snapshot of some Syrian refugee experiences and their progress in establishing themselves here in Canada. The report also focused on the effectiveness of Canadian resources federally, provincially and locally in responding to the needs of incoming Syrian refugees.

Today, I wish to contribute some additional comments to our evolving discussion of Syrian refugee settlement in Canada. I would like to begin by acknowledging the work and dedication of all committee members who had their own expertise and their own experiences and engaged thoughtfully throughout this study.

As urban centres welcomed the largest number of Syrian refugees, our study targeted refugee experiences in Ottawa, Montreal and Toronto. Our study was completed by a fact-finding mission, which I believe drew attention to issues facing Syrian refugees in those cities, such as the high cost of housing, lack of employment opportunities and delays in accessing language training.

According to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, there are over 350 Syrian refugee "welcoming communities" across the country, and this should be commended. The breadth of experiences and unique challenges faced by each of these communities fell far beyond the scope of our study. I would like to focus and bring the attention of senators to some additional issues facing Syrian refugees in other parts of Canada.

In August 2016, a study undertaken by the Rural Development Institute at Brandon University researched the experiences of Syrian refugees in five rural communities across Manitoba: Altona-Winkler-Morden-Carman, Steinbach, Dauphin, Portage la Prairie and Killarney. Respondents reported similar challenges to integration as those outlined in our committee report, including limited employment opportunities and affordable housing.

However, they also highlighted several unique challenges particular to their experience in rural communities. These included lack of public transportation, volunteer fatigue, feelings of isolation due to geographic location, and lack of religious and ethno-cultural diversity.

The experiences of Syrian refugees settling in rural areas may merit further study.

Small, rural communities are plagued by another challenge: low retention rates. In January 2017, the Atlantic Provinces Economic Council published a report which underscored low immigrant retention rates across the region. David Chaundy, author of the report stated:

Although our immigration numbers are rising, we're still losing close to half of them over a five-year period.

To combat this growing trend, local governments must be equipped with the necessary tools and policies required to provide viable economic opportunities for newcomers.

Furthermore, as evidenced in our committee report, refugee experiences fluctuate dramatically across different settlement streams. Largely due to advanced language proficiency and higher levels of education, integration is reportedly less challenging for privately sponsored refugees.

As reported in a Canadian Press interview from March 2017, Dawn Edlund, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister of Operations at IRCC, stated that only 10 per cent of government-assisted refugees were employed. By contrast, she reported that over half of the privately-sponsored refugees had found employment. Our committee report reflects similar findings.

With the arrival of the so-called Month 13 and the conclusion of federal government support for refugees, a significant burden has been transferred to provincial and territorial governments. Provinces and territories home to larger numbers of government-assisted refugees may be disproportionately affected.

In Saskatchewan, for example, roughly 90 per cent of Syrian refugees admitted between November 4, 2015 and July 31, 2016 were part of the Government-Assisted Refugees Program. Within that same time frame, British Columbia welcomed approximately 72 per cent government-assisted refugees. By contrast, among those who arrived in Quebec, nearly 80 per cent were from the privately sponsored refugee program.

Based on statistics provided by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, the Globe and Mail reported in January 2017 that the Quebec city of Trois-Rivières, as well as Moncton and Saint John, New Brunswick, welcomed the largest number of Syrian refugees on a per capita basis.

As Canada continues to move forward with an ambitious resettlement agenda, it remains critical to recognize these regional discrepancies and to account for these differences. We must account for these differences in the development of additional policy tools and strategies to assist local, provincial and territorial governments to overcome challenges and rectify barriers to integration across all regions.

I echo our committee's recommendation that the Government of Canada continue to provide appropriate resources to ensure the full integration of all Syrian refugees.

As of January 29, 2017, Canada had welcomed 40,081 Syrian refugees since the arrival of the first wave of refugees in November 2015. This marks a laudable response to the Syrian refugee crisis. However, international comparisons reveal that substantial work remains to be done to address the global refugee crisis.

The 2016 International Migration Outlook, published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, or OECD, ranked Canada 15 out of 30 countries in comparison of individual asylum requests. Based on data collected between May 2015 and April 2016, a per capita comparison revealed that Canada ranked 19 out of 30 countries. Our efforts were overshadowed by those of Germany, Italy, Austria, France and several Scandinavian countries.

In response to these and other findings, the 2016 OECD report called for an increase in resettlement efforts by all members of the international community.

OECD Secretary-General Angel Gurria proposed the following in a 2016 report launch:

It is clear we need a bold, comprehensive global response to mass displacement.

As the global refugee crisis intensifies, Canada's commitment to refugee resettlement must remain unwavering. While our attention has focused on responding to the Syrian refugee crisis, there remains an urgent and apparent need to respond to the needs of all refugee groups.

Our committee heard compelling testimony from witnesses who expressed grave concern over the preferential treatment of Syrian refugees. While additional government resources were committed to expediting the resettlement of Syrian refugees, they reported that the needs of other refugee groups may have been marginalized.

Honourable senators, millions of men, women and children continue to languish in refugee camps across Africa and elsewhere, in desperate need of resettlement assistance.

In a written brief submitted to the committee, the Canadian Council for Refugees stated:

Africa hosts fully a third of the refugees in need of resettlement, but they routinely wait as long as five years for Canada to process their application. Over 6,000 people in Africa are currently waiting for an answer from Canada.

According to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, Canada received the largest number of refugee claims from Nigeria in 2016.

At a total of 1,492 claims, this marked an 88 per cent increase in Nigerian refugee claims from 2015 to 2016. Similarly, refugee claims from Eritrea increased by 172 per cent, rising from 288 to 782 individual claims in 2016.

The plight of all refugees must be met in Canada with a fair and balanced approach.

Once again, I want to underscore the valuable work of the Senate Human Rights Committee in drawing attention to the experiences of Syrian refugees in Canada.

This report builds on the committee's previous work, namely in 2015, which was entitled Protecting a Generation: Are UNICEF and UNHCR Mandates Meeting the Needs of Syrian Children?

With an estimated 65.3 million forcibly displaced persons worldwide, I trust that, on behalf of the Senate of Canada, the Human Rights Committee will continue to monitor these issues in an evolving global context and, I believe, do a service to the Canadian policy on refugees, to refugees and to the work of the Senate.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

L'étude sur les mesures prises pour faciliter l'intégration des réfugiés syriens nouvellement arrivés et les aider à surmonter les difficultés qu'ils vivent

Adoption du cinquième rapport du Comité des droits de la personne et demande de réponse du gouvernement

L'ordre du jour appelle :

Reprise du débat sur la motion de l'honorable sénateur Munson propose, appuyé par l'honorable sénatrice Cordy,

Que le cinquième rapport, Trouver refuge au Canada : L'histoire de la réinstallation des Syriens, du Comité sénatorial permanent des droits de la personne, qui a été déposé auprès du greffier du Sénat le mardi 6 décembre 2016, soit adopté et que, conformément à l'article 12-24(1) du Règlement, le Sénat demande une réponse complète et détaillée du gouvernement, le ministre de l'Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté étant désigné ministre chargé de répondre à ce rapport, en consultation avec la ministre du Revenu national.

L'honorable A. Raynell Andreychuk : Honorables sénateurs, je vous prie de me pardonner d'intervenir à deux reprises aujourd'hui. Je crois que j'ai plus de voix aujourd'hui que j'en aurai demain. J'ai aussi promis au président et à la vice-présidente du comité d'intervenir sur le rapport.

Je prends la parole pour faire quelques observations sur le cinquième rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent des droits de la personne, intitulé Trouver refuge au Canada : L'histoire de la réinstallation des Syriens.

Le président du comité, le sénateur Munson, et la vice-présidente, la sénatrice Ataullahjan, ont résumé de belle façon tout à l'heure les principales conclusions du rapport. Ils ont attiré l'attention du Sénat sur le fait que le rapport donne un aperçu des expériences vécues par certains réfugiés syriens et des progrès de leur intégration au Canada. Le rapport se penche également sur l'efficacité des ressources fédérales, provinciales et locales déployées au Canada pour répondre aux besoins des nouveaux arrivants syriens.

Aujourd'hui, je souhaite ajouter quelques observations à notre discussion sur la réinstallation des réfugiés syriens au Canada.

J'aimerais d'abord saluer le travail et le dévouement de tous les membres du comité, qui ont su tirer parti de leur expertise et leur propre expérience afin d'apporter leur contribution éclairée tout au long de cette étude.

Puisque ce sont les centres urbains qui ont accueilli le plus grand nombre de réfugiés syriens, notre étude portait sur l'expérience vécue par les réfugiés à Ottawa, à Montréal et à Toronto. Nous avons complété notre étude avec une mission d'information qui, à mon sens, a permis de faire la lumière sur les obstacles auxquels les réfugiés syriens ont dû faire face dans ces villes, y compris le coût élevé des logements, le manque de possibilités d'emploi et les retards concernant l'accès à la formation linguistique.

Selon Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada, il y a plus de 350 « collectivités accueillantes » pour les réfugiés syriens dans l'ensemble du pays, et cela mérite d'être salué. La diversité des expériences et des difficultés particulières vécues dans chacune de ces collectivités dépassait largement la portée de notre étude. J'aimerais surtout attirer l'attention des sénateurs sur d'autres difficultés auxquelles les réfugiés doivent faire face dans d'autres régions du Canada.

En août 2016, l'Institut de développement rural de l'Université de Brandon s'est penché sur les expériences vécues par des réfugiés syriens dans cinq collectivités rurales du Manitoba : Altona-Winkler-Morden-Carman, Steinbach, Dauphin, Portage la Prairie et Killarney. Les répondants ont fait état d'obstacles à l'intégration semblables à ceux qui figurent dans le rapport de notre comité, y compris le manque de possibilités d'emploi et de logements abordables.

Cependant, ils ont aussi indiqué plusieurs difficultés propres à l'expérience vécue dans les collectivités rurales, dont l'absence de transport public, la lassitude des bénévoles, le sentiment d'isolement en raison de l'emplacement géographique et le manque de diversité religieuse et ethnoculturelle.

L'expérience des réfugiés syriens qui s'établissent dans les régions rurales mériterait sûrement une étude approfondie.

Les petites collectivités et les collectivités rurales doivent aussi faire face à un autre problème : le faible taux de rétention des immigrants. En effet, un rapport publié en janvier 2017 par le Conseil économique des provinces de l'Atlantique fait état d'un faible taux de rétention des immigrants dans l'ensemble de la région de l'Atlantique. Je cite l'auteur du rapport, David Chaundy :

Même si le nombre d'immigrants ne cesse d'augmenter, nous en perdons près de la moitié au cours des cinq premières années.

Pour combattre cette tendance de plus en plus forte, les gouvernements doivent disposer des outils et des politiques nécessaires pour offrir une situation économiquement viable aux nouveaux arrivants.

De plus, comme le souligne notre rapport, les expériences vécues par les réfugiés varient énormément selon le groupe auquel ils appartiennent. Parce qu'ils parlent généralement mieux la langue et qu'ils sont plus instruits, les réfugiés parrainés par le privé semblent avoir moins de mal à s'intégrer.

Dans une entrevue donnée en mars 2017 à La Presse Canadienne, la sous-ministre adjointe déléguée aux Opérations d'Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada, Dawn Edlund, affirme que seulement 10 p. 100 des réfugiés parrainés par le gouvernement ont un emploi, comparativement à plus de la moitié des réfugiés parrainés par le privé. Le comité est arrivé à des résultats comparables.

Avec l'arrivée de ce qu'on appelle le « 13e mois » et la fin du soutien fédéral aux réfugiés, une énorme partie du fardeau est transférée aux provinces et aux territoires, fardeau qui va d'ailleurs croissant avec le nombre de réfugiés parrainés par le gouvernement qui sont accueillis.

En Saskatchewan, par exemple, environ 90 p. 100 des réfugiés syriens arrivés entre le 4 novembre 2015 et le 31 juillet 2016 faisaient partie du Programme des réfugiés pris en charge par le gouvernement. Pendant la même période, ce taux était d'approximativement 72 p. 100 en Colombie-Britannique. À l'autre bout du spectre, près de 80 p. 100 des réfugiés arrivés au Québec faisaient partie du Programme de parrainage privé de réfugiés.

En se fondant sur les statistiques fournies par Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada, le Globe and Mail calculait en janvier 2017 que, proportionnellement, les villes qui ont accueilli le plus de réfugiés syriens sont Trois-Rivières, au Québec, de même que Moncton et Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Au fur et à mesure que se poursuit l'ambitieux programme canadien de réinstallation, nous devons absolument prendre conscience de ces disparités régionales et en tenir compte dans les politiques et les stratégies qui aideront à l'avenir les autorités locales, provinciales et territoriales à surmonter les problèmes qui se dresseront sur leur chemin et à aplanir les obstacles régionaux à l'intégration.

J'appuie la recommandation du comité qui réclame que le gouvernement du Canada continue de fournir les ressources nécessaires pour assurer la pleine intégration des réfugiés syriens.

En date du 29 janvier 2017, le Canada a accueilli 40 081 réfugiés syriens depuis l'arrivée de la première vague de réfugiés en novembre 2015. Il s'agit d'une réponse louable à la crise des réfugiés syriens. Toutefois, une comparaison internationale révèle qu'il reste un travail important à faire pour résoudre le problème mondial des réfugiés.

Dans l'édition de 2016 des Perspectives des migrations internationales, publiée par l'Organisation pour la coopération et le développement économiques, l'OCDE, le Canada est classé 15e parmi 30 pays en ce qui concerne les demandes individuelles d'asile. Selon des données recueillies entre mai 2015 et avril 2016, une comparaison par habitant révèle que le Canada est classé 19e parmi 30 pays. Les efforts du Canada ont été dépassés par l'Allemagne, l'Italie, l'Autriche, la France et plusieurs pays scandinaves.

À la lumière de ces conclusions et d'autres constats, le rapport de l'OCDE de 2016 appelle la communauté internationale à redoubler d'efforts en matière de réinstallation.

Le secrétaire général de l'OCDE, Angel Gurria, a proposé ce qui suit au moment de la publication du rapport de 2016 :

De toute évidence, nous devons élaborer une réponse audacieuse, exhaustive et globale aux déplacements massifs

À mesure que la crise mondiale des réfugiés s'intensifie, l'engagement du Canada en ce qui a trait à la réinstallation des réfugiés doit demeurer inébranlable. Même si nous avons surtout porté notre attention sur la résolution de la crise des réfugiés syriens, il est nécessaire et urgent que nous répondions aux besoins de tous les groupes de réfugiés.

Notre comité a entendu des témoignages convaincants de personnes qui se sont dites vivement préoccupées par le traitement préférentiel accordé aux réfugiés syriens. En effet, même si des ressources gouvernementales supplémentaires ont été engagées pour accélérer la réinstallation des réfugiés syriens, les témoins ont indiqué que les besoins des autres groupes de réfugiés ont possiblement été négligés.

Honorables sénateurs, des millions d'hommes, de femmes et d'enfants continuent à vivoter dans des camps de réfugiés en Afrique et ailleurs. Ils ont désespérément besoin d'aide à la réinstallation.

Dans un mémoire présenté au comité, le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés a déclaré ceci :

L'Afrique compte un tiers de réfugiés en besoin de réinstallation, mais ils doivent attendre systématiquement jusqu'à cinq ans pour le traitement de leur demande par le Canada. Plus de 6 000 personnes en Afrique sont en attente d'une réponse de la part des autorités canadiennes.

Selon Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada, en 2016, le plus grand nombre de demandes de statut de réfugiés au Canada venaient du Nigeria.

Il y a eu, en tout, 1 492 demandes de statut de réfugiés présentées par des Nigérians, ce qui représente une hausse de 88 p. 100 par rapport aux demandes présentées en 2015-2016. De la même façon, les demandes d'asile provenant de l'Érythrée ont augmenté de 172 p. 100, passant de 288 demandes à 782 en 2016.

Le Canada doit traiter tous les réfugiés d'une manière juste et équitable.

Je tiens de nouveau à souligner le précieux travail effectué par le Comité sénatorial des droits de la personne afin d'attirer l'attention sur les expériences des réfugiés syriens au Canada.

Ce rapport fait suite au rapport précédent du comité, qui a été publié en 2015 et s'intitule La protection d'une génération : Les mandats de l'UNICEF et du HCR permettent-ils de répondre aux besoins des enfants syriens?

Comme on estime à 65,3 millions le nombre de personnes déplacées de force dans le monde, j'espère que, au nom du Sénat du Canada, le Comité des droits de la personne continuera de suivre la situation dans un contexte mondial en constant changement, ce qui je pense, aura un effet positif sur la politique canadienne sur les réfugiés, sur les réfugiés eux-mêmes et sur les travaux du Sénat.