This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Parliamentarians Greet Sergei Magnitsky Family in Ottawa

Ottawa, Ontario – On November 1, 2017, Parliamentarians gathered to greet members of the Sergei Magnitsky family in Ottawa to mark the adoption of Bill S-226, the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (Sergei Magnitsky Law).

“Having worked for decades on human rights issues internationally and in Canada, Bill S-226 and its passage ensure that Canada will no longer be used to shelter or enable human rights violators,” said Senator Andreychuk, who is the sponsor of the legislation. “It is gratifying to receive such unanimous cross-partisan support in both Houses of Parliament, underscoring the importance of human rights values in Canada.”

“The Sergei Magnitsky Law gives Canada another tool to project our values abroad while simultaneously defending our own sovereignty,” said MP James Bezan, the Bill’s sponsor in the House of Commons. “All Parliamentarians agreed that Canada cannot be used to shelter the elicit funds of corrupt foreign officials and their family members.”    

“The sacrifice of Sergei Magnitsky, who fought for justice and the rule of law in his country, served as the inspiration for Bill S-226,” stated Senator Andreychuk. “We acknowledge the sacrifice of countless human rights defenders and activists worldwide who continue to face threats of illegal detention, torture and death. This law is for them” 

“Under this law, foreign nationals responsible for human rights violations and significant corruption will no longer be able to use Canada as a safe-haven,” said MP Bezan.

Contacts:

Office of the Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator

613-947-2239

zenia.miner@sen.parl.gc.ca

Office of James Bezan, MP

613-992-2032

media@jamesbezan.com

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Les parlementaires accueillent la famille de Sergei Magnitsky à Ottawa

Ottawa (Ontario) – Le 1er novembre 2017, les parlementaires se sont réunis pour accueillir les membres de la famille de Sergei Magnitsky à Ottawa afin de souligner l’adoption du projet de loi S-226, la Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Loi de Sergei Magnitsky).

« Nous travaillons depuis des décennies sur les droits de la personne au palier international et au Canada, et le projet de loi S-226 et son adoption assureront que le Canada n’est plus utilisé comme refuge pour ceux qui violent les droits de la personne, a dit la sénatrice Andreychuk, qui est la marraine de la mesure législative.  Il est gratifiant de recevoir un appui multipartite aussi unanime au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes, ce qui souligne l’importance des droits de la personne au Canada. »

« La Loi de Sergei Magnitsky donne au Canada un autre outil pour protéger nos valeurs à l’étranger, tout en défendant notre propre souveraineté, a dit le député James Bezan, le parrain du projet de loi à la Chambre des communes.  Tous les parlementaires ont reconnu que le Canada ne doit pas servir à abriter les fonds illégaux de dirigeants étrangers corrompus et des membres de leur famille. »

« Le sacrifice de Sergei Magnitsky, qui s’est battu pour la justice et la primauté du droit dans son pays, a motivé le projet de loi S-226, a dit la sénatrice Andreychuk.  Nous reconnaissons le sacrifice des innombrables militants et défenseurs des droits de la personne dans le monde entier qui continuent à faire face à la menace de la détention illégale, de la torture et de la mort.  Cette loi est pour eux. »

« En vertu de cette Loi, les ressortissants étrangers responsables de violations des droits de la personne et de corruption majeure ne pourront plus utiliser le Canada comme refuge », a dit le député Bezan.

Contacts :

Bureau de l’honorable Raynell Andreychuk Sénatrice

613-947-2239

zenia.miner@sen.parl.gc.ca

Bureau de James Bezan, député

613-992-2032

media@jamesbezan.com