This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Magnitsky Bill, sponsored by Senator Andreychuk, passes final stage in the Senate

Ottawa, Ontario – On October 17, 2017, Bill S-226, the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (Sergei Magnitsky Law), received final approval in the Senate of Canada.

“Bill S-226 places a discretionary tool at the government’s disposal to apply sanctions against foreign nationals responsible for, or complicit in, significant acts of corruption and gross violations of internationally recognized human rights,” said Senator Andreychuk, who is the sponsor of Bill S-226. “Through the application of asset freezes and travel bans, Canada will no longer be used to enable or shelter foreign nationals responsible for these violations.”

Bill S-226 is inspired by the harrowing case of Sergei Magnitsky, a lawyer who sacrificed his life in the pursuit of exposing corruption in Russia. “Mr. Magnitsky’s case exemplifies the tragic consequences that often occur when positions of power and privilege are manipulated for the purposes of personal gain,” continued Senator Andreychuk. “He is but one example of the tragedy that befalls countless political dissidents and human rights defenders around the world.”

Bill S-226 was unanimously adopted by the Senate of Canada in April 2017.  “I wish to thank James Bezan, Member of Parliament for Selkirk-Interlake-Eastman, for his sponsorship of the bill in the House of Commons.”

Following the unanimous adoption of amendments in the House of Commons, the bill was returned to the Senate for agreement earlier this month.  “I wish to note especially Minister Chrystia Freeland’s support of the importance of Bill S-226 and its facilitation.”

“The adoption of this legislation in both Houses of Parliament reaffirms Canada’s commitment to the protection and promotion of justice, human rights, and the rule of law. I am pleased that Canada finally has the means to promote these standards at home.”

Contact:

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Office of the Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator

613-947-2239

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Loi Magnitski, proposée par la sénatrice Andreychuk, reçoit l’approbation finale du Sénat

Ottawa (Ontario) – Le 17 octobre 2017, le projet de loi S-226, Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (loi de Sergueï Magnitski), a reçu l’approbation finale du Sénat du Canada.

« Grâce au projet de loi S-226, le gouvernement dispose désormais d’un outil discrétionnaire pour appliquer des sanctions à l’encontre de ressortissants étrangers jugés coupables d’actes de corruption à grande échelle et de violations graves de droits de la personne reconnus à l’échelle internationale,  a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk. Suite à l'application d’interdictions de voyager et de mesures qui permettent de bloquer les biens, le Canada ne sera plus utilisé pour aider ou héberger les étrangers responsables de ces violations. »

Le projet de loi S-226 a été inspiré par le cas tragique de Sergueï Magnitski, un avocat qui a sacrifié sa vie en voulant exposer la corruption en Russie. « Le cas de M. Magnitski illustre les conséquences tragiques qui se produisent souvent lorsque des postes de pouvoir et de privilège sont manipulés à des fins de gain personnel, a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk. M. Magnitski incarne la tragédie que subissent de nombreux dissidents politiques et défenseurs des droits de la personne à travers le monde. »

Le projet de loi S-226 avait été adopté à l’unanimité par le Sénat du Canada en avril 2017. « Je veux remercier James Bezan, député de Selkirk-Interlake-Eastman, pour son parrainage du projet de loi à la Chambre des communes. »

Plus tôt en octobre, le projet de loi a été retourné au Sénat pour obtenir l’accord de la Chambre haute, après l’adoption de modifications à l’unanimité par la Chambre des communes. « Je tiens à souligner l’appui que la ministre Chrystia Freeland a témoigné envers  l'importance et le cheminement du projet de loi S-226. »

« L'adoption de cette loi dans les deux chambres du Parlement réaffirme l’engagement du Canada envers la protection et la promotion du respect des droits de la personne et de la justice. Je suis heureuse que le Canada ait enfin les moyens de promouvoir ces normes ici au Canada. »

Renseignements :

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Bureau de l’honorable Raynell Andreychuk, sénatrice

613 947-2239