This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Canadian Parliamentarians conclude Bilateral Mission to the Gambia

Banjul – Six members of the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association concluded an important and productive bilateral mission to The Gambia today. The delegation was led by the Association’s Co-Chairs, the Hon. Raynell Andreychuk, Senator, and Robert Oliphant, M.P., and included the Hon. René Cormier, Senator, the Hon. Mike Lake, P.C., M.P., François Choquette, M.P., and Mona Fortier, M.P.

The delegation met with a broad range of officials and stakeholders to learn about the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead for The Gambia. This included meetings with several members of the newly elected National Assembly, including the Hon. Mariam Jack Denton, Speaker of the National Assembly. It also included a meeting with the Hon. Fatoumata Tambajang, Minister of Women’s Affairs overseeing the Office of the Vice President, and the Hon. Abubacarr Tambadou, Attorney General and Minister of Justice. The delegation also met with members of civil society, including journalists and human rights advocates, as well as representatives from the private sector. The delegation visited the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, and met with the United Nations Resident Coordinator in The Gambia.

“The Association decided to visit The Gambia to engage with parliamentarians and officials in the country’s first democratically elected government in 22 years. It has been a little over seven months since President Barrow was sworn into office following historic elections. As The Gambia transitions to a new era, the advancement of human rights and reconciliation, and the strengthening of the justice system will be of critical importance, said Senator Andreychuk.”

Mr. Oliphant stated, “Our meetings highlighted the many issues that The Gambia faces as it works to advance reconciliation, human rights and social and economic development. The importance of empowering women and youth and the need to address the unique challenges of those living in remote communities are key among them. Canada can play a meaningful role in supporting the new Gambia as it re-engages with the international community.”

ABOUT: Established in 2003, the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association promotes exchanges between African and Canadian parliamentarians and proposes initiatives aimed at fostering better mutual understanding of national and international problems. In addition, the Association works to develop ties with regional parliamentary groupings and the Pan-African Parliament.

-30-

For more information, please contact:

Ms. Josée Therien, Association Secretary, 613-996-6075

http://www.parl.ca/DocumentViewer/en/IIA/news-release/9074710

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Des parlementaires canadiens concluent une mission bilatérale en Gambie

Banjul – Six membres de l’Association parlementaire Canada-Afrique ont conclu aujourd’hui une importante et fructueuse mission bilatérale en Gambie. La délégation menée par les coprésidents de l’Association, l’hon. Raynell Andreychuk, sénatrice, et Robert Oliphant, député, rassemblait également l’hon. René Cormier, sénateur, l’hon. Mike Lake, C.P., député, François Choquette, député, et Mona Fortier, députée.

La délégation a rencontré une vaste gamme de représentants et d’intervenants pour en apprendre davantage sur les obstacles et les débouchés qui attendent la Gambie. Elle s’est réunie avec plusieurs députés de l’Assemblée nationale nouvellement élue, dont l’hon. Mariam Jack Denton, Présidente de l’Assemblée nationale. Elle a aussi rencontré l’hon. Fatoumata Tambajang, ministre des Affaires féminines, responsable du Bureau de la vice-présidente, ainsi que l’hon. Abubacarr Tambadou, procureur général et ministre de la Justice. La délégation s’est aussi entretenue avec des membres de la société civile, y compris des journalistes, des défenseurs des droits de la personne, et des porte-parole du secteur privé. Elle a visité la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples et a rencontré le coordonnateur résident des Nations Unies en Gambie.

« L’Association a décidé d’aller en Gambie pour établir des liens avec les parlementaires et dirigeants du premier gouvernement démocratiquement élu depuis 22 ans. Cela fait un peu plus de sept mois que le président Barrow est entré en fonction à l’issue de ces élections historiques. Maintenant que la Gambie entre dans une nouvelle ère, la promotion des droits de la personne, la réconciliation et le renforcement du système judiciaire revêtent une importance critique » a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk.

M. Oliphant a déclaré : « Nos rencontres ont fait ressortir les nombreux obstacles à la réconciliation, aux droits de la personne et au développement socio-économique de la Gambie. Le pays devra entre autres donner aux femmes et aux jeunes les moyens d’agir et voir à la situation unique des communautés éloignées. Le Canada peut jouer un rôle concret en aidant la nouvelle Gambie à établir des liens avec la communauté internationale. »  

AU SUJET DE L’ASSOCIATION : Fondée en 2003, l’Association parlementaire Canada-Afrique favorise les échanges entre les parlementaires africains et canadiens et propose des initiatives pour mieux faire comprendre les problèmes nationaux et internationaux. L’Association travaille en outre à établir des liens avec les groupes parlementaires régionaux et le Parlement panafricain.

-30-

Pour des renseignements additionnels, prière de communiquer avec :

Mme Josée Therien, secrétaire de l’Association, au 613-996-6075.

http://www.parl.ca/DocumentViewer/fr/AII/communique/9074710