This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk marks Ukrainian Independence Day

Ottawa, Ontario - Senator Raynell Andreychuk today marked Ukrainian Independence Day by reiterating calls for Russia to release political prisoners and reinstate the territorial integrity of Ukraine.

“Twenty-six years ago, the people of Ukraine declared their independence with parliament’s adoption of the Act of Declaration of Independence of Ukraine,” noted Senator Andreychuk. “This occasion marks an opportunity to acknowledge the commitment of the Ukrainian people, and the support of the Ukrainian diaspora, in building a free and independent Ukraine.”  

“As we mark this occasion, we regrettably note the ongoing illegal actions of Russia in the occupied territories of eastern Ukraine and the Crimean peninsula.”  Acknowledging the deteriorating human rights situation within these regions, Senator Andreychuk continued, “The arrest and detention of numerous political prisoners, including Oleg Sentsov and Ruslan Zeitullayev, illustrates a grave violation of personal freedoms as well as the ongoing persecution of Ukrainians and Ukrainian ethnic minorities by the Kremlin.”

Oleg Sentsov, a Ukrainian filmmaker and 2017 recipient of the PEN Freedom to Write Award, was detained in Crimea by Russian officials in May 2014 on unsubstantiated charges of terrorism.  He was sentenced to serve 20 years on August 25, 2015. Ruslan Zeitullayev, a member of the Turkic ethnic Crimean Tatars, was detained in Crimea under similar charges. On July 27, 2017, Mr. Zeitullayev was sentenced to 15 years and announced the beginning of his ongoing hunger strike.    

“Today we reaffirm support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity and call for the immediate release of all Ukrainians illegally detained by Russia.”

Contact

Zenia Turkewych Miner

613 996 4600

Office of the Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator

-30-

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk souligne le Jour de l’indépendance de l’Ukraine

Ottawa (Ontario) — Aujourd’hui, la sénatrice Andreychuk a souligné le Jour de l’indépendance de l’Ukraine en exhortant à nouveau la Russie à libérer ses prisonniers politiques et à rétablir l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine.

« Il y a vingt-six ans, le peuple ukrainien a déclaré son indépendance lorsque son Parlement a adopté l’Acte de Déclaration d’indépendance de l’Ukraine », a annoncé la sénatrice Andreychuk. « C’est aujourd’hui l’occasion pour nous de reconnaître l’engagement du peuple ukrainien à établir une société libre et indépendante ainsi que la contribution de la diaspora ukrainienne à la réalisation de cette vision. »

« En cette journée d’anniversaire, nous déplorons la présence illégale continue de la Russie dans les territoires occupés de l’est de l’Ukraine et de la péninsule de Crimée. » À propos de la détérioration de la situation des droits de la personne dans les régions en question, la sénatrice Andreychuk a ajouté que « l’arrestation et la détention de nombreux prisonniers politiques, dont Oleg Sentsov et Ruslan Zeitullayev, sont de graves violations des libertés individuelles, tout comme la persécution continue d’Ukrainiens et de minorités ethniques ukrainiennes par le Kremlin ».

Oleg Sentsov, cinéaste ukrainien et gagnant du prix PEN pour la liberté d’écrire de 2017, est arrêté par les autorités russes en Crimée en mai 2014 et accusé, sans fondement, de terrorisme. Le 25 août 2015, il est condamné à 20 ans d’emprisonnement. Ruslan Zeitullayev, membre de l’ethnie turque des Tatars de Crimée, est également détenu en Crimée pour des motifs semblables. Le 27 juillet 2017, M. Zeitullayev a été condamné à 15 ans d’emprisonnement; il a depuis entamé une grève de la faim.

« Nous réaffirmons aujourd’hui notre appui pour la souveraineté et l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine et réclamons la libération immédiate de tous les Ukrainiens détenus illégalement par la Russie. »

Personne-ressource

Zenia Turkewych Miner

613-996-4600

Bureau de l’honorable sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk

-30-