This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk marks the 31st anniversary of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster

Ottawa, Ontario – On April 26, 2017, Senator Raynell Andreychuk marked the 31st anniversary of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster.

“Today, I call on all Canadians to join me in pausing to remember the victims of Chernobyl – one of the largest nuclear power plant disasters in history,” said Senator Andreychuk.  “Let us remember the men, women and children, who lost their lives as a result of this tragedy. Our thoughts are with the children who have been orphaned, and with all those who continue to suffer the devastating effects of nuclear radiation exposure.”

On April 26, 1986, one of four nuclear reactors at the Chernobyl power plant located near the town of Pripyat, Ukraine, exploded during a routine safety test. As a fire erupted, radioactive particles were released into the atmosphere extending across Ukraine, Belarus and neighboring areas of Europe.

“As a result of direct exposure to radiation, thirty-one ill-equipped emergency responders and power plant workers were the first victims of the disaster. Among those who survived, serious health complications persist”, said Senator Andreychuk, citing estimates of over 7,000 cases of thyroid cancer related to the incident.

Noting the United Nations General Assembly decision to designate April 26 as International Chernobyl Disaster Remembrance Day, Senator Andreychuk stated, “International Chernobyl Disaster Remembrance Day marks an opportunity to raise awareness and reaffirm our commitment to improving nuclear safety and security so that we may prevent future disasters from occurring.”

Contact

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Office of the Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator

613 996 4600

-30-

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk souligne le 31e anniversaire de la catastrophe nucléaire de Tchernobyl

Ottawa (Ontario) – Le 26 avril 2017, la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk a souligné le 31e anniversaire de la catastrophe nucléaire de Tchernobyl.

« Aujourd’hui, j’invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à moi pour prendre un moment afin d’honorer la mémoire des victimes de Tchernobyl – l’une des plus importantes catastrophes à jamais avoir eu lieu dans une centrale nucléaire », a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk. « Souvenons-nous des hommes, des femmes et des enfants qui sont morts à cause de cette tragédie. Nous compatissons au malheur des enfants qui ont perdu leurs parents, et de tous ceux qui continuent à souffrir des terribles effets des radiations ».

Le 26 avril 1986, un des quatre réacteurs nucléaires de la centrale électrique de Tchernobyl, située à proximité de la petite ville de Pripiat, en Ukraine, explose lors d’un essai de sécurité de routine. Dans l’incendie, des particules radioactives sont libérées dans l’atmosphère, et se répandent dans toute l’Ukraine, au Bélarus et dans les régions européennes voisines.

« Conséquence d’une exposition directe aux radiations, trente et un premiers intervenants mal équipés et employés de la centrale sont les premières victimes de la catastrophe. Ceux qui ont survécu ont souffert de graves problèmes de santé », a précisé la sénatrice Andreychuk, en signalant que, selon les estimations, plus de 7 000 cas de cancer de la thyroïde sont attribuables à l’incident.

Notant la décision de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies de faire du 26 avril la Journée internationale du souvenir de la catastrophe de Tchernobyl, la sénatrice Andreychuk a déclaré : « La Journée internationale du souvenir de la catastrophe de Tchernobyl est l’occasion d’accroître la sensibilisation et de réaffirmer notre engagement à l’égard de l’amélioration de la sûreté et de la sécurité nucléaires, pour éviter que d’autres catastrophes ne se reproduisent ».

Renseignements

Zenia Turkewych Miner

Bureau de l’honorable Raynell Andreychuk, sénatrice

613-996 4600

-30-