This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk Calls for Strengthened Accountability for Global Human Rights Violations

Ottawa, ON – Rising in the Senate on October 25, 2016, Senator Raynell Andreychuk spoke at second reading of Bill S-226, Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (Sergei Magnitsky Law).

“Responding to the urgent and apparent need for increased protection of internationally recognized human rights should remain a top priority for Canadians,” said Senator Andreychuk. “By amending the Special Economic Measures Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, Bill S-226 seeks to provide that gross violations of internationally recognized human rights are grounds for economic measures against foreign states and nationals who have committed these crimes.”

Bill S-226 is inspired by the case of Russian whistleblower Sergei Magnitsky. While practicing law in Moscow, Mr. Magnitsky uncovered a tax corruption scheme. Following his testimony against government officials, he was accused and arrested on comparable charges. Subjected to ill treatment and deplorable conditions while imprisoned, Mr. Magnitsky died in pretrial custody.

“Let us continue to uphold the Canada’s reputation for the protection of international human rights and the principles of international humanitarian law. I urge the swift adoption of this timely and critical bill.”

Senator Andreychuk's full speech may be read here: http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/421/Debates/065db_2016-10-25-e.htm

Background

  • Senator Andreychuk introduced Bill S-226 in the Senate of Canada on May 4, 2016. A corresponding bill, Bill C-267, was introduced by James Bezan, Member of Parliament for Selkirk-Interlake-Eastman, in the House of Commons on May 5, 2016.

 

  • The Canadian House of Commons and the Senate of Canada unanimously adopted a motion to take note of the case of Sergei Magnitsky on March 25, and May 5, 2015, respectively.

 

  • The Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act was passed by both the United States House and the Senate in December 2012. Comparable motions, resolutions and acts have been adopted by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe; the European Parliament; the British House of Commons and the Dutch Parliament.

-30- 

Contact: Zenia Turkewych Miner 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

LA SÉNATRICE ANDREYCHUK RÉCLAME LE RENFORCEMENT DE LA RESPONSABILITÉ RELATIVE AUX VIOLATIONS DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE DANS LE MONDE

Ottawa (Ontario) – Prenant la parole au Sénat le 25 octobre 2016, la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk a pris position lors de la deuxième lecture du projet de loi S-226, Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (loi de Sergueï Magnitski).

« Répondre au besoin urgent et criant de rehausser la protection des droits humains reconnus à l’échelle internationale doit demeurer une priorité pour les Canadiens », a affirmé la sénatrice  Andreychuk. « En modifiant la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et la Loi sur la protection des réfugiés, le projet de loi S-226 vise la prise de mesures économiques à l’encontre des étrangers et des États tenus responsables de violations flagrantes des droits de la personne reconnus à l’échelle internationale. »

Le projet de loi S-226 s’inspire de la désormais célèbre affaire d’un dénonciateur russe, Sergei Magnitsky. Alors qu’il pratiquait le droit à Moscou, M. Magnitsky a découvert un stratagème de fraude fiscale. À la suite de son témoignage contre des représentants du gouvernement, il a été arrêté pour des accusations semblables. En raison de son mauvais traitement et de ses conditions d’emprisonnement déplorables, M. Magnitsky est décédé en détention préventive à l’âge de 37 ans.

« Maintenons la réputation du Canada en ce qui a trait à la protection des droits internationaux de la personne et des principes du droit humanitaire international. J’invite les sénateurs à adopter rapidement ce projet de loi urgent et essentiel. »

La déclaration intégrale de la sénatrice Andreychuk se trouve ici : http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/421/Debates/065db_2016-10-25-f.htm#53

Contexte

  • La sénatrice Andreychuk a présenté le projet de loi S-226 au Sénat du Canada le 4 mai 2016. Un projet de loi correspondant, le projet de loi C-267, a été présenté par James Bezan, député de Selkirk-Interlake-Eastman, dans la Chambres des communes le 5 mai 2016.
  • La Chambre des communes et le Sénat du Canada ont adopté à l’unanimité, le 25 mars et le 5 mai 2015 respectivement, une motion portant tenue d’un débat exploratoire sur l’affaire Sergueï Magnitsky.
  • La loi Sergueï Magnitski a été adoptée par la Chambre des représentants et le Sénat des États-Unis en 2012. Des résolutions, motions et lois similaires ont été adoptées par l'Assemblée parlementaire de l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe, le Parlement européen, et le Parlement néerlandais.

-30-

Personne-ressource : Zenia Turkewych Miner (613-996-4600)