This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Human Rights Abuses in Iran

Inquiry—Debate Adjourned

Hon. A. Raynell Andreychuk: Honourable senators, I also rise today to draw your attention to the plight of three Kurdish journalists imprisoned in Iran: Mohammad Sadiq Kaboudvand, Kamal Sharifi and Adnan Hassanpour.

Mohammed Sadiq Kaboudvand was arrested in 2007 and sentenced to serve nine years and ten months in Tehran's notorious Evin Prison. As founder of the Kurdistan Human Rights Organization and editor of a weekly publication called Payam-e Mardom — The Peoples' Message — he was accused of "acting against national security," spreading "propaganda. . . ," "opposing Islamic penal laws. . ." and "advocating on behalf of political prisoners." Similarly, Adnan Hassanpour was arrested in 2007 on comparable charges. His death sentence was reduced to a 15-year prison term to be served in the Zahedan central prison.

Finally, Kamal Sharifi was first arrested by Iranian authorities in 1989, accused of membership in Kurdish opposition groups. He is serving a 30-year sentence in the Minab Prison.

These journalists have reported cruel and degrading treatment, torture and periods of prolonged solitary confinement. They have reportedly been denied adequate medical treatment in addition to their right to furlough.

Ranked 169 out of 180 countries by the 2016 World Press Freedom Index, such are the ongoing practices perpetrated against journalists and human rights defenders in Iran.

Also among them in prison, members of religious and ethnic minorities are the most persecuted — and not only in prison. I want to note, again, the Baha'i community, which has been one of the most oppressed religious minorities in Iran, their faith still unrecognized by the Iranian constitution.

Numerous Baha'i community leaders have been arrested on charges relating to "disturbing national security."

Honourable senators, it is Canada's responsibility to insist that Iran uphold its commitments to freedom of thought and expression under international human rights law. I urge all senators to join in condemning the systematic persecution of religious and ethnic minorities and to call for the immediate release of the unjustly imprisoned activists and journalists in Iran.

I want to thank Senator Frum for putting a face on the statistics that we often hear from Iran. This continued annual inquiry in the Senate is an important way of showing the people of Iran that we are with them in their struggle and that we continue to urge Iran, if it wishes to be part of the world community, to adhere to international standards for human rights and respect for the rights of their citizens.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Les violations des droits de la personne en Iran

Interpellation—Ajournement du débat

L'honorable A. Raynell Andreychuk : Honorables sénateurs, j'interviens également aujourd'hui pour attirer votre attention sur le sort de trois journalistes kurdes emprisonnés en Iran : Mohammad Sadiq Kaboudvand, Kamal Sharifi et Adnan Hassanpour.

Mohammad Sadiq Kaboudvand fut arrêté en 2007 et condamné à une peine d'emprisonnement de neuf ans et dix mois dans la tristement célèbre prison d'Evin. Fondateur de la Kurdistan Human Rights Organization et éditeur d'un hebdomadaire intitulé Payam-e Mardom — le message du peuple — il fut accusé d'« atteinte à la sécurité nationale », de « propagande », d'« opposition aux lois pénales islamiques » et de « défense des intérêts de prisonniers politiques ». Adnan Hassanpour fut lui aussi arrêté en 2007 et accusé d'infractions similaires. La peine de mort qu'il se vit imposer à l'origine fut réduite à une peine de prison de 15 ans à purger dans la prison centrale de Zahedan.

Enfin, Kamal Sharifi a été arrêté par les autorités iraniennes en 1989, accusé d'appartenance aux groupes d'opposition kurdes. Il purge une peine de prison de 30 ans dans la prison de Minab.

Ces journalistes signalent des traitements cruels et dégradants, la torture et de longues périodes d'isolement cellulaire. On rapporte qu'ils sont privés de soins médicaux adéquats et qu'on leur refuse la permission de sortir.

L'Iran se classe au 169e rang sur 180 pays dans le Classement mondial de la liberté de la presse de 2016, ce qui explique les actes perpétrés encore aujourd'hui contre les journalistes et défenseurs des droits de la personne dans ce pays.

Également sous les verrous, les personnes appartenant aux minorités religieuses et ethniques sont les plus persécutées, et pas seulement en prison. Je tiens à souligner une fois de plus la communauté baha'ie, l'une des communautés religieuses les plus opprimées d'Iran, dont la foi n'est toujours pas reconnue par la Constitution iranienne.

De nombreux dirigeants de la communauté baha'ie ont été arrêtés, accusés d'« atteinte à la sécurité nationale ».

Honorables sénateurs, il est du devoir du Canada d'insister pour que l'Iran tienne ses engagements à l'égard de la liberté de pensée et d'expression issue du droit international en matière de droits de la personne. J'exhorte tous les sénateurs à se joindre à la condamnation de la persécution systématique des minorités religieuses et ethniques et à demander la libération immédiate des journalistes et militants injustement emprisonnés en Iran.

Je tiens à remercier la sénatrice Frum d'avoir traduit en des termes concrets les statistiques qui nous proviennent souvent de l'Iran. Cette interpellation qui est lancée tous les ans au Sénat est une façon importante de montrer au peuple iranien que nous l'accompagnons dans sa lutte et que nous continuons à exiger de l'Iran qu'il adhère aux normes internationales en matière de droits de la personne et qu'il respecte les droits de ses citoyens, faute de quoi il ne fera pas partie de la communauté internationale.