This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Leopoldo Lopez and Antonio Ledezma: Congratulations on Geneva Summit Courage Award

Honourable senators, I rise today to honour this year's recipients of the prestigious Geneva Summit Courage Award. This award is presented each year at the Geneva Summit for Human Rights and Democracy to acknowledge the ongoing dedication and sacrifice of international human rights activists. Recipients are selected by a 25-member NGO coalition spearheaded by UN Watch. This year, Venezuelan opposition leaders Leopoldo Lopez and Antonio Ledezma have been recognized with this honour.

Leopoldo Lopez, leader of the Popular Will party, was sentenced to serve nearly 14 years in prison for inciting violence during the 2014 protest. Last Thursday, February 18, marked the second anniversary of his incarceration in the Ramo Verde military prison.

Antonio Ledezma, mayor of Venezuela's capital, Caracas, was detained in February 2015 for allegedly plotting a coup. He is awaiting trial under house arrest.

In the words of UN Watch Executive Director Hillel Neuer, both men were chosen for the award ". . . for inspiring the world with their extraordinary courage in the defense of liberty and universal human rights."

Mr. Lopez and Mr. Ledezma embody the plight of hundreds of Venezuelans persecuted for peacefully opposing their government. This award reaffirms international support for the ongoing struggle of the people of Venezuela. Today I encourage Canadian parliamentarians and Canadians to stand with the members of the Geneva Summit Courage Award selection coalition in recognition of Mr. Lopez' and Mr. Ledezma's bravery.

Since early February 2014, Venezuela has been seized by frequent and violent political struggles. Shortages of basic necessities, such as food and life-saving medications, and rising inflation coupled with depleted national reserves have crippled the country. United in discontent, the people of Venezuela elected the first opposition-controlled Parliament in nearly 16 years on December 6, 2015.

The newly elected legislature has been tasked with finding a viable and sustainable solution to the challenges facing Venezuela. We should call on all parliamentarians to work together in Venezuela for political, economic and social reconciliation. This must include the immediate release of all political prisoners, including Leopoldo Lopez and Antonio Ledezma. We call particularly on President Maduro to work with the new legislature for the benefit of the people of Venezuela.

Noting the Motion to Urge the Government of Venezuela to Immediately End all Unlawful Acts of Violence and Repression against Civilians, adopted in this chamber on March 12, 2015, I again stand today in solidarity with the people of Venezuela, urging the Government of Venezuela to uphold the principles of human rights and the rule of law. Thank you, honourable senators.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Leopoldo Lopez et Antonio Ledezma: Félicitations pour l'obtention du Prix du courage du Sommet de Genève

Honorables sénateurs, je prends la parole aujourd'hui pour saluer les lauréats du prestigieux Prix du courage du Sommet de Genève de cette année. Ce prix est décerné tous les ans au Sommet de Genève pour les droits de l'homme et la démocratie en reconnaissance du dévouement soutenu de défenseurs des droits de la personne et des sacrifices qu'ils ont consentis. Les lauréats sont choisis par une coalition de 25 ONG membres menées par UN Watch. Cette année, ce sont Leopoldo Lopez et Antonio Ledezma, figures de l'opposition au Venezuela, qui ont reçu cet honneur.

Leopoldo Lopez, chef du parti politique Voluntad Popular, a été condamné à près de 14 ans d'emprisonnement pour incitation à la violence lors des manifestations de 2014. Jeudi dernier, le 18 février, on marquait le deuxième anniversaire de son incarcération dans la prison militaire de Ramo Verde.

Antonio Ledezma, maire de Caracas, capitale du Venezuela, a été mis en détention en février 2015 après avoir été accusé d'avoir fomenté un coup d'État. Il est assigné à résidence en attendant son procès.

M. Hillel Neuer, directeur exécutif de UN Watch, a déclaré que les deux hommes avaient été choisis parce que « [...] le courage extraordinaire dont ils font preuve pour défendre la liberté et les droits de l'homme universels sont une inspiration pour le monde entier. »

MM. Lopez et Ledezma incarnent le sort de centaines de Vénézuéliens qui sont persécutés pour s'être opposés pacifiquement au gouvernement. Ce prix réitère le soutien international à la lutte actuelle du peuple du Venezuela. Aujourd'hui, j'invite les parlementaires canadiens et les Canadiens à saluer, à l'instar des membres de la coalition de sélection pour le Prix du courage du Sommet de Genève, le courage de M. Lopez et de M. Ledezma.

Depuis le début de février 2014, le Venezuela est souvent le théâtre d'une lutte politique violente. Les pénuries de produits de première nécessité — notamment de nourriture et de médicaments indispensables — et la montée de l'inflation jumelée à l'épuisement des réserves nationales inhibent l'activité économique du pays. Unis dans le mécontentement, le 6 décembre 2015, les Vénézuéliens ont confié leur Parlement à l'opposition pour la première fois en près de 16 ans.

La législature nouvellement élue s'est vu confier la tâche de trouver une solution viable et durable aux défis que doit relever le Venezuela. Nous devrions inviter tous les parlementaires du Venezuela à collaborer en vue d'une réconciliation politique, économique et sociale qui passerait obligatoirement par la libération immédiate de tous les prisonniers politiques, dont Leopoldo Lopez et Antonio Ledezma. Par-dessus tout, nous demandons au président Maduro de travailler avec la nouvelle législature dans l'intérêt des Vénézuéliens.

Dans l'esprit de la motion exhortant le gouvernement du Venezuela à mettre fin immédiatement aux actes de violence et de répression illicites à l'endroit de civils, adoptée par le Sénat le 12 mars 2015, je prends la parole aujourd'hui pour, une fois de plus, exprimer ma solidarité envers les Vénézuéliens et pour demander au gouvernement du Venezuela de respecter les principes des droits de la personne et de la primauté du droit. Merci, honorables sénateurs.