This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk honoured with YWCA Regina Lifetime Achievement Award

On April 28, 2016, the YWCA Regina awarded Senator A. Raynell Andreychuk the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award.

“I am deeply honored to receive this award from an organization with a long history rooted in a mission to address the issues that prevent women from advancing their professional goals,  not only here in Regina,  but all over the world,” said Senator Andreychuk. “With a worldwide network, great advances have been made by the YWCA to benefit women in all walks of life.”

Born and raised in Saskatoon, Senator Andreychuk earned her Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws from the University of Saskatchewan. Appointed as a Judge to the Saskatchewan Provincial Court in 1976, Senator Andreychuk established the first family court in Regina. Her diplomatic career began in 1987 and included several appointments to Kenya, Uganda, Somalia, the Comoros, and Portugal. Called to the Senate in 1993, she became the first female senator to represent Saskatchewan.

Throughout her professional career, Senator Andreychuk has remained dedicated to the Ukrainian-Canadian community. She has served as chair and co-chair of several election observer missions to Ukraine, as Chair of the Ukraine-NATO Inter-parliamentary Council (UNIC) of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, and as Vice-Chair of the Canada-Ukraine Parliamentary Friendship Group. In 2008, Senator Andreychuk played a key role in gaining formal recognition of the Ukrainian Famine (1932-33) as an act of genocide through her sponsorship of Bill C-459 in the Senate of Canada.

Senator Andreychuk has also contributed to a number of volunteer and community organizations, including as Honorary Chair of the Ukrainian Canadian Congress 75th Anniversary Commemoration of Holodomor activities in Canada, and as Honorary Patron of the Shevchenko Foundation’s Kobzar Literary Award.

The 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Senator Andreychuk at the YWCA Women of Distinction Award reception in Regina, Saskatchewan on Thursday, April 28, 2016.

-30-

Contact: Zenia Turkewych Miner 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Le YWCA de Regina décerne le Prix pour l’ensemble des réalisations à la sénatrice Andreychuk

Le 28 avril 2016, le YWCA de Regina a décerné à la sénatrice A. Raynell Andreychuk le Prix pour l’ensemble des réalisations 2016.

« C’est un très grand honneur pour moi de recevoir un prix d’une organisation dont la mission consiste depuis toujours à lever les obstacles qui empêchent les femmes d’atteindre leurs objectifs professionnels, ici à Regina comme ailleurs dans le monde, a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk. Grâce à son réseau mondial, le YWCA a réalisé de grandes avancées qui aideront les femmes de toutes les conditions sociales. »

Originaire de Saskatoon, la sénatrice Andreychuk a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts et un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Saskatchewan. Nommée juge à la Cour provinciale de la Saskatchewan en 1976, elle a créé à Regina un tribunal de la famille. En 1987, elle a commencé une carrière dans la diplomatie durant laquelle elle a été en poste au Kenya, en Ouganda, en Somalie, aux îles Comores et au Portugal. Nommée sénatrice en 1993, elle est devenue la première femme au Sénat à représenter la Saskatchewan.

Tout au long de sa carrière, la sénatrice Andreychuk est demeurée attachée à la communauté ukrainienne du Canada. Elle a par ailleurs été présidente et coprésidente de diverses missions d’observation des élections en Ukraine, présidente du Conseil interparlementaire Ukraine-OTAN de l’Assemblée parlementaire de l’OTAN ainsi que vice-présidente du Groupe d’amitié Canada-Ukraine. En 2008, elle a joué un rôle prépondérant dans la reconnaissance officielle de la famine en Ukraine (1932-1933) en tant que génocide, puisqu’elle a parrainé le projet de loi C-459 au Sénat du Canada.

La sénatrice Andreychuk a également contribué à nombre d’organismes de bénévolat et de proximité, comprenant à titre de présidente honoraire des activités organisées au Canada par le Congrès des Ukrainiens Canadiens pour commémorer le 75e anniversaire de l’Holomodor et de marraine honoraire du prix littéraire Kobzar créé par la Fondation Shevchenko.

La sénatrice Andreychuk a reçu le Prix pour l’ensemble des réalisations 2016 lors de la remise des prix Femmes de distinction du YWCA, qui a eu lieu le jeudi 28 avril 2016.

– 30 –

Renseignements : Zenia Turkewych Miner, 613-996-4600