This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk Introduces Bill to Strengthen Measures Against Human Rights Violators

 

Ottawa, ON - Rising in the Senate on May 4, 2016, Senator Raynell Andreychuk tabled Bill S-226, “Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (Sergei Magnitsky Law).”

Inspired by the case of Moscow lawyer Sergei Magnitsky, Bill S-226 seeks to impose greater restrictive measures against foreign states and nationals responsible for gross human rights violations.

“I am very pleased to table this important piece of legislation,” said Senator Andreychuk. “With the introduction of this Bill, we remember Mr. Magnitsky’s sacrifice and emphasize the importance of bringing all those responsible for his illegal detention and torture to justice. Moreover, by amending both the Special Economic Measures Act and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to include human rights, Bill S-226 seeks to ensure greater accountability among human rights violators throughout the world,” added Senator Andreychuk.

In 2008, Sergei Magnitsky uncovered one of the largest tax fraud schemes in Russian history. Following his testimony against Senior Interior Ministry officials, Mr. Magnitsky was detained without a proper trial and accused of tax fraud. He spent the next year in prison, where he was subjected to ill treatment and torture. While imprisoned, he developed serious medical complications. He passed away on November 16, 2009 in pre-trial custody, at the age of 37.

“Canada has a duty to uphold the principles of international justice and respect for human rights within the international community. I wish to thank Mr. William Browder and former MP Irwin Cotler for their tireless hard work and dedication in highlighting the need for this key piece of legislation in Canada.”

Background

• In 2010, the European Parliament adopted a resolution to impose entry bans on Russian officials involved in the Magnitsky case.

• In 2012, Russian opposition leader Boris Nemtsov travelled to Canada to call on the government to adopt Magnitsky sanctions. He was assassinated in Moscow in February 2015. 

• In December 2012, the United States Senate unanimously adopted the Magnitsky Act.

• Both the Canadian House of Commons and the Senate of Canada unanimously adopted a motion to take note of the case of Sergei Magnitsky on March 25, and May 5, 2015, respectively.

• On March 10, 2016, the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade heard testimony from William Browder, Zhanna Nemtsova, and Vladimir Kara-Murza, on the state of human rights abuses in Russia and the Magnitsky case.

-30-

Contact: Zenia Turkewych Miner 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk dépose un projet de loi pour sanctionner les violateurs des droits de la personne

 

Ottawa, ON - Prenant la parole au Sénat le 4 mai 2016, la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk a déposé le projet de loi S-226, « Loi sur la justice pour les victimes de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (loi de Sergueï Magnitski) ».

Le projet de loi, inspiré par l’affaire de l’avocat moscovite Sergueï Magnitsky, prévoit de nouvelles mesures restrictives contre les étrangers et les États responsables de violations graves des droits de la personne.

« Je suis ravie de déposer ce projet de loi important », a dit la sénatrice Andreychuk. « Il commémore le sacrifice de M. Magnitsky, qui a été emprisonné illégalement et torturé, et souligne la nécessité de traduire en justice tous les responsables de ces actes. Par l’intégration des droits de la personne à la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, le projet de loi S-226 resserra l’imputabilité des autres violateurs des droits de la personne partout autour du monde. »

En 2008, Sergueï Magnitsky a mis au jour l’une des plus vastes fraudes de l’histoire de la Russie. Après avoir témoigné contre de hauts responsables du ministère de l’Intérieur, M. Magnitsky a été emprisonné sans procès et accusé de fraude fiscale. Il a passé un an derrière les barreaux, où il a été maltraité et torturé. Pendant son emprisonnement, il est devenu gravement malade et est décédé le 16 décembre 2009, avant son procès, à l’âge de 37 ans.

« Le Canada a le devoir de défendre les principes de la justice internationale et le respect des droits de la personne au sein de la communauté internationale. Je veux remercier M. William Browder et l’ancien député Irwin Cotler, qui ont travaillé sans relâche à ce que soit reconnue l’importance de cette loi au Canada. »

Contexte

  • En 2010, le Parlement européen adopte une résolution sur l’interdiction de séjour des responsables russes impliqués dans l’affaire Magnitsky.
  • En 2012, le leader de l’opposition russe Boris Nemtsov, de passage au Canada, appelle le gouvernement à adopter des sanctions dans l’affaire Magnitsky. Il est assassiné à Moscou en février 2015. 
  • En décembre 2012, le Sénat des États-Unis adopte à l’unanimité la loi de Magnitsky.
  • La Chambre des communes et le Sénat du Canada adoptent à l’unanimité, le 25 mars et le 5 mai 2015 respectivement, une motion portant tenue d’un débat exploratoire sur l’affaire Sergueï Magnitsky.
  • Le 10 mars 2016, le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international entend le témoignage de William Browder, de Zhanna Nemtsova et de Vladimir Kara Murza sur l’affaire Magnitsky et les violations des droits de la personne en Russie.

-30-

Renseignements : Zenia Turkewych Miner 613-996-4600