This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk Commemorates the Chernobyl Nuclear Disaster

Rising in the Senate on April 20, 2016, Senator Andreychuk commemorated the thirtieth anniversary of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster.

“Today, we commemorate those who lost their lives, and those who continue to suffer in the aftermath of the Chernobyl disaster,” said Senator Andreychuk.

On April 26, 1986, a nuclear reactor exploded at the Chernobyl power plant near the small town of Pripyat, Ukraine. The explosion exposed countless individuals living in surrounding areas across Ukraine and Belarus to high levels of radiation. Thirty-one brave first-responders lost their lives from direct exposure to radiation while fighting to bury the reactor. Thirty years later, the adverse consequences of this exposure continues to devastate the lives of all those affected.

“The profound human health and environmental impacts of the Chernobyl disaster have yet to be fully understood,” said Senator Andreychuk, noting the high instances of thyroid cancer and other health complications among survivors and their children.

“The high human cost attributed to this tragedy underscores the importance of practicing vigilance when it comes to safety within the civilian nuclear sector,” Senator Andreychuk added.  “Let us continue to raise awareness about the importance of nuclear safety and always remember the victims of Chernobyl.”

Senator Andreychuk’s full statement on the Chernobyl Nuclear Disaster can be read here: http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/421/Debates/029db_2016-04-20-e.htm

Contact: Zenia Turkewych Miner 613-996-4600

-30-

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk souligne la catastrophe nucléaire de Tchernobyl

La sénatrice Andreychuk a pris la parole au Sénat le 20 avril 2016 pour souligner le trentième anniversaire de la catastrophe nucléaire de Tchernobyl.

« Aujourd’hui, nous rendons hommage à ceux qui ont perdu la vie et à tous ceux qui continuent de souffrir à la suite de la catastrophe de Tchernobyl, » a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk.

Le 26 avril 1986, un réacteur nucléaire a explosé à la centrale électrique de Tchernobyl à proximité de la petite ville de Pripiat, en Ukraine. L’explosion a exposé d’innombrables résidants des régions avoisinantes en Ukraine et au Belarus à des niveaux élevés de radiation. Trente-et-un premiers intervenants courageux ont perdu la vie après avoir été exposés directement à la radiation alors qu’ils s’efforçaient d’enterrer le réacteur. Trente ans plus tard, les conséquences néfastes de cette exposition continuent de dévaster la vie de ceux qui ont été touchés.

« Nous ne comprenons pas encore pleinement les conséquences profondes de la catastrophe de Tchernobyl sur la santé humaine et l’environnement, » a précisé la sénatrice Andreychuk, en signalant le taux élevé de cancer de la thyroïde et d’autres problèmes de santé chez les survivants et leurs enfants.

« Les énormes coûts humains de cette tragédie font ressortir l’importance de faire preuve de vigilance en ce qui a trait à la sécurité dans le secteur nucléaire civil, » a ajouté la sénatrice Andreychuk. « Nous devons continuer de sensibiliser la population à l’importance de la sécurité nucléaire et ne jamais oublier les victimes de Tchernobyl. »

La déclaration intégrale de la sénatrice Andreychuk sur la catastrophe nucléaire de Tchernobyl se trouve ici : http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/421/Debates/029db_2016-04-20-f.htm

Personne-ressource : Zenia Turkewych Miner 613-996-4600

-30-