This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk Condemns the Conviction of Political Prisoner Nadiya Savchenko

Rising in the Senate on March 24, 2016, Senator Andreychuk stated that the recent unjust conviction of Ukrainian pilot and MP Nadiya Savchenko is a blatant violation of international norms.

“Today, I join members of the international community in stating that not only were the charges not based on fact, the fundamental right of an accused is the right to a defense, which Lieutenant Savchenko was denied,” said Senator Andreychuk. “Her trial was characterized by an intolerable lack of due process.”

Lieutenant Savchenko has been illegally imprisoned in Russia since June 2014. Despite international outcry for her release, her detention has been repeatedly extended. On March 22, 2016, Lieutenant Savchenko was sentenced by a Russian court to serve 22 years in prison on charges related to her alleged complicity in the deaths of two Russian journalists.

“Lieutenant Savchenko remains a national symbol of bravery and resistance,” added Senator Andreychuk. “I urge all Canadian parliamentarians to call for the immediate release of Nadiya Savchenko, along with all other Ukrainian prisoners illegally detained in Russia.”

Senator Andreychuk’s full statement can be read here: http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/421/Debates/024db_2016-03-24-e.htm

A petition calling for the immediate release of Lieutenant Nadiya Savchenko can be signed here: http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/free-savchenko-open-letter-to-european-leaders

-30-

Contact: Zenia Turkewych Miner 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk dénonce la condamnation de la prisonnière politique Nadia Savchenko

Prenant la parole au Sénat le 24 mars 2016, la sénatrice Andreychuk a déclaré que la condamnation récente et injuste de la pilote et députée ukrainienne Nadia Savchenko est une violation flagrante des normes internationales.

« Aujourd’hui, je joins ma voix à celle de la communauté internationale pour affirmer non seulement que les accusations n’étaient pas fondées sur des faits, mais également que l’accusée, la lieutenante Savchenko, a été brimé du droit fondamental de se défendre, a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk. Son procès a été marqué par l’absence intolérable d’une procédure équitable. »

La lieutenante Savchenko est emprisonnée illégalement en Russie depuis juin 2014. Malgré un mouvement international en faveur de sa libération, sa détention est constamment prolongée. Le 22 mars 2016, la lieutenante Savchenko a été condamnée par la justice russe à une peine d’emprisonnement de 22 ans pour des motifs liés à sa complicité présumée dans le meurtre de deux journalistes russes.

« La lieutenante Savchenko demeure un symbole national de courage et de résistance, a ajouté la sénatrice Andreychuk. J’implore tous les parlementaires canadiens à réclamer la libération immédiate de Nadia Savchenko et de tous les autres prisonniers ukrainiens détenus illégalement en Russie. »

On peut lire la déclaration intégrale de la sénatrice Andreychuk ici : http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/421/Debates/024db_2016-03-24-f.htm

On peut signer la pétition réclamant la libération immédiate de la lieutenante Nadia Savchenko :http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/free-savchenko-open-letter-to-european-leaders

– 30 –

Personne-ressource : Zenia Turkewych Miner, 613-996-4600