This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk Calls on the Government of Venezuela to end Political Violence

Senator Andreychuk condemns escalating violence in Venezuela two weeks prior to the Parliamentary elections.

 The death of regional opposition leader, Luis Manuel Diaz, marks the most recent incident of political violence in Venezuela. Mr. Diaz, Secretary General of the Acción Democrática party, was shot at a campaign rally on November 25, 2015.

“When violence escalates and a political opposition leader is killed, a fair democratic process is severely threatened,” stated Senator Andreychuk.

A number of other high profile Venezuelan opposition leaders have reported incidents of violence and intimidation. Lilian Tintori, wife of imprisoned national opposition leader Leopoldo Lopez, reported the plane carrying her from last week’s campaign rally had been sabotaged. Earlier this month, opposition candidate Miguel Pizarro reported a confrontation with armed men in East Caracas, while Miranda state governor Henrique Capriles, was reportedly attacked by a group of men in Yare.

“It is essential that the people of Venezuela are able to exercise their democratic right without fear or intimidation,” added Senator Andreychuk. “The Government of Venezuela must ensure the safety of everyone during their electoral process so that the goals of a democracy can be realized on December 6.”

Background

  • In early 2014, thousands of Venezuelans assembled to protest deteriorating security conditions, inflation, corruption, and food shortages in Venezuela.  Violent clashes between the government and opposition protestors culminated in the death of 43 people and the injury and arrest of hundreds more.

 

  • On June 12, 2014, Senator Andreychuk moved a Motion to Urge the Government of Venezuela to Immediately End all Unlawful Acts of Violence and Repression against Civilians. The motion was ultimately adopted by the Senate of Canada on March 12, 2015.

 

  • In August 2015, the Venezuelan Electoral Council and Comptroller General banned five members of the political opposition from running in the upcoming elections. Among those banned was former National Assembly member Maria Corina Machado.

 

  • In September 2015, Leopoldo Lopez, leader of the Popular Will party, was sentenced to serve nearly 14 years in prison for inciting violence during the 2014 protests. No credible evidence has been provided to substantiate these charges. He has been imprisoned since February 2014.

 

Contact: Darlene Van Dusen, 613-947-2239

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Sénatrice Andreychuk Engage Le Gouvernement du Venezuela à Mettre Fin à La Violence Politique

 

La sénatrice Andreychuk condamne l’escalade de la violence au Venezuela deux semaines avant les élections parlementaires.

 

Le décès du chef d’opposition régional Luis Manuel Diaz est le plus récent incident de violence politique au Venezuela. M. Diaz, secrétaire général du parti Action démocratique, a été abattu par balles lors d’un rassemblement électoral le 25 novembre 2015.

« L’intensification de la violence et l’assassinat d’un opposant politique font peser une lourde menace sur l’équité du processus démocratique », a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk.

D’autres dirigeants de l’opposition très en vue au Venezuela ont rapporté des incidents de violence et d’intimidation. Lilian Tintori, épouse du chef de l’opposition nationale incarcéré Leopoldo Lopez, a raconté que l’avion qui la transportait après le rassemblement électoral de la semaine dernière avait été saboté. Vers le début du mois, le candidat de l’opposition Miguel Pizarro a signalé un affrontement avec des hommes armés dans l’Est de Caracas, tandis que le gouverneur de l’État de Miranda, Henrique Capriles, aurait été attaqué par un groupe d’hommes à Yare.

« Il est essentiel que la population du Venezuela puisse exercer ses droits démocratiques à l’abri de la peur et de l’intimidation », a ajouté la sénatrice Andreychuk. « Le gouvernement du Venezuela doit garantir la sécurité de tous durant le processus électoral afin que les objectifs de la démocratie puissent être atteints le 6 décembre. »

Contexte

  • Au début de 2014, des milliers de Vénézuéliens se sont rassemblés pour manifester contre la détérioration des conditions de sécurité, l’inflation, la corruption et les pénuries d’aliments au Venezuela. De violents affrontements entre les représentants du gouvernement et les manifestants de l’opposition se sont soldés par un bilan de 43 morts et des centaines de personnes blessées et arrêtées.

 

  • Le 12 juin 2014, la sénatrice Andreychuk a présenté une motion tendant à encourager le gouvernement du Venezuela à immédiatement mettre fin aux actes de violence et de répression illicites à l’endroit de civils. Cette motion a finalement été adoptée par le Sénat du Canada le 12 mars 2015.

 

  • En août 2015, le conseil électoral du Venezuela et le contrôleur général ont interdit à cinq membres de l’opposition politique de se présenter aux prochaines élections. Parmi eux figure l’ancienne députée à l’Assemblée nationale Maria Corina Machado.

 

  • En septembre 2015, Leopoldo Lopez, chef du parti Volonté populaire, a été condamné à près de 14 ans de prison pour avoir fomenté la violence pendant les manifestations de 2014. Aucune preuve crédible n’a été fournie pour étayer ces accusations. Il est emprisonné depuis février 2014.

 

Renseignements : Darlene Van Dusen, 613-947-2239