This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk concerned by attacks on persons with albinism ahead of Tanzanian election

Senator Andreychuk expressed concern upon learning of the latest attack on a person with albinism in the lead-up to Sunday’s general elections in Tanzania.

According to Vancouver-based NGO Under the Same Sun, Mr. Mohammed Said, 35, was attacked by three men wielding machetes in his home in Mkuranga Town, some 42 km from Dar es Salaam City Centre. Mr. Said sustained injuries to his head and right ear when the men escaped with a piece of his flesh.

As Tanzanians prepare to head to the polls on Sunday, 25 October, politicians are believed to be among those turning to a form of witchcraft that uses albino body parts to bring good luck. According to the Tanzania Albino Society, at least four persons with albinism have been killed since campaigning officially began on August 23.

“Instead of fuelling this deadly form of discrimination, parliamentarians have a critical role to play in working within their communities to combat prejudice and disinformation, in educating citizens about human rights and the challenges confronting people with albinism in particular, and in advocating tolerance and adherence to the rule of law,” said Senator Andreychuk.

Senator Andreychuk has repeatedly highlighted the ongoing attacks against persons with albinism in East Africa, including as the sponsor of a Motion unanimously adopted in the Senate of Canada last June.

Background

Albinism is a rare, genetic difference present at birth, which causes a lack of pigmentation in the skin, hair and eyes. It occurs in members of both sexes, all ethnicities and in every country in the world. Whereas albinism is present in approximately one in 17,000 people in North America, it is much more prevalent in East Africa, affecting as many as one in 1,400 people.

Discrimination against people with albinism is particularly severe in parts of East Africa, where the body parts of persons with albinism have been used in witchcraft.

On June 16, 2015, the Senate of Canada unanimously adopted the following Motion:

That the Senate:

(a) take note of the resolution adopted by the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association on June 3, 2015, and tabled in the Senate on June 11, 2015, concerning the rights of persons with albinism, who are subject to widespread discrimination, and whose body parts have been used in witchcraft, exposing them to murder and mutilation; and

(b) encourage all parliamentarians to

(i) exercise their influence within their communities with a view to combatting prejudice and disinformation with respect to albinism and people with albinism,

(ii) educate their fellow citizens with respect to the multiple layers of human rights challenges — including social marginalization, medical and psychological problems, and confinement to poverty — affecting people with albinism, and

(iii) advocate tolerance and adherence to the rule of law to ensure the rights and safety of persons with albinism and exercise extra vigilance in the lead-up to elections

-30-

Contact: Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk préoccupée par les attaques perpétrées contre des personnes atteintes d’albinisme, à la veille de l’élection tanzanienne

La sénatrice Andreychuk s’est montrée préoccupée en apprenant l’attaque la plus récente perpétrée contre une personne atteinte d’albinisme, juste avant les élections générales qui auront lieu dimanche en Tanzanie.

Selon l’ONG Under the Same Sun de Vancouver, M. Mohammed Said, 35 ans, a été attaqué par trois hommes brandissant des machettes dans sa maison de Mkuranga Town, à environ 42 km du centre de Dar es-Salaam. M. Said a été blessé à la tête et à l’oreille droite et les hommes se sont enfuis avec un morceau de chair.  

Tandis que les Tanzaniens se préparent à se rendre aux urnes le dimanche 25 octobre, on croit que des politiciens font partie de ceux qui, croyant s’attirer de la chance, se tournent vers une forme de sorcellerie dans laquelle sont utilisées des parties du corps de personnes ayant l’albinisme. Selon la Tanzania Albino Society, au moins quatre personnes atteintes d’albinisme ont été tuées depuis le début officiel de la campagne électorale, le 23 août.

« Au lieu d’alimenter cette forme meurtrière de discrimination, les parlementaires ont un rôle important à jouer dans leurs collectivités pour combattre les préjugés et la désinformation, renseigner les citoyens sur les droits de la personne et les problèmes que rencontrent, notamment, les personnes atteintes d’albinisme, et promouvoir la tolérance et le respect de la primauté du droit », a indiqué la sénatrice Andreychuk.

La sénatrice a toujours dénoncé les attaques incessantes contre les personnes ayant l’albinisme en Afrique de l’Est, notamment à titre de marraine de la motion adoptée à l’unanimité par le Sénat du Canada en juin dernier.

Contexte

L’albinisme est une maladie génétique rare, présente à la naissance, qui entraîne une absence de pigmentation de la peau, des cheveux et des yeux. Cette maladie touche autant les hommes que les femmes, peu importe la race ou le pays. En Amérique du Nord, une personne sur 17 000 en est atteinte, tandis qu’en Afrique orientale, c’est beaucoup plus : une personne sur 1 400.

Des taux de prévalence plus élevés d’albinisme ont été observés en Afrique de l’Est, où des parties du corps de personnes ayant l’albinisme ont été utilisées en sorcellerie.

Le 16 juin 2015, le Sénat du Canada a adopté à l’unanimité la motion suivante :

Que le Sénat :

(a) prenne note de la résolution adoptée par l'Association parlementaire Canada-Afrique le 3 juin 2015, et déposée au Sénat le 11 juin 2015, au sujet des droits des personnes atteintes d'albinisme, qui sont victimes de discrimination générale et dont les parties du corps ont été utilisées en sorcellerie, ce qui a augmenté les risques qu'elles soient tuées ou mutilées;

 (b) incite tous les parlementaires :

(i) à exercer leur influence au sein de leurs communautés pour lutter contre les préjugés et la désinformation en ce qui a trait à l'albinisme et aux personnes qui en sont atteintes,

(ii) à sensibiliser leurs concitoyens quant aux multiples défis en matière de droits de la personne auxquels sont confrontées les personnes ayant l'albinisme, notamment la marginalisation sociale, les problèmes médicaux et psychologiques, et le confinement dans la pauvreté,

(iii) à militer pour la tolérance et le respect de la primauté du droit pour défendre les droits et la sécurité des personnes ayant l'albinisme et à exercer une vigilance accrue en prévision des élections.

-30-

Personne-ressource : Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600