This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk urges adherence to international election standards in Belarus

Senator Andreychuk today urged adherence to universal principles for genuine democratic elections, as Belarus prepared for presidential elections on Sunday, 11 October 2015.

“Belarussians, like all people worldwide, deserve to live in a country that upholds their basic right to participate in elections, and to vote in free and fair elections,” said Senator Andreychuk, who highlighted the 2005 Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation.

“Sunday’s elections are an opportunity for authorities in Belarus – and President Lukashenko in particular – to demonstrate their commitment to the internationally recognized rights of the people of Belarus to freely express their will as to who shall govern in their name and in their interests.”

Background

Previous elections in Belarus have been widely criticized, with international organizations – including Freedom House and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe – citing concerns over procedural flaws, media censorship and the use of security forces and the judiciary to repress civil society and harass opposition candidates and supporters.   

The last presidential elections in Belarus, which took place in 2010, were met with widespread demonstrations and the arrest of several hundred protesters, including several opposition candidates.

Endorsed by 23 international organizations at the United Nations, New York on October 27, 2005, the Declaration of Principles for International Election Observation and Code of Conduct for International Election Observers establish the rights of citizens to vote and be elected in periodic elections as internationally recognized human rights.

Contact: Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk demande le respect des normes électorales internationales au Bélarus

Aujourd’hui, la sénatrice Andreychuk a lancé un appel au respect des principes universels régissant l’organisation d’élections honnêtes et démocratiques, alors que le Bélarus se prépare en vue des élections présidentielles du dimanche 11 octobre 2015.

Attirant l’attention sur la Déclaration de principes pour l’observation internationale d’élections de 2005, la sénatrice Andreychuk a déclaré que « les Bélarussiens, tout comme les peuples du monde entier, méritent de vivre dans un pays respectueux de leur droit fondamental de participer aux élections, et de voter dans le cadre d’élections libres et justes ».

« Les élections de ce dimanche seront l’occasion pour les autorités bélarussiennes – et pour le président Lukashenko en particulier – de démontrer leur engagement envers le respect des droits internationalement reconnus des Bélarussiens de choisir librement ceux qui dirigeront le pays en leur nom et dans leur intérêt. »

Contexte

Les dernières élections au Bélarus ont été vivement critiquées. Des organisations internationales, dont Freedom House et l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe, ont fait état de préoccupations relatives à des irrégularités de procédure, à la censure des médias et au recours aux forces de sécurité et au système judiciaire pour réprimer la société civile et harceler les candidats de l’opposition et leurs sympathisants.   

Les dernières élections présidentielles, qui se sont tenues en 2010, ont donné lieu à des manifestations de grande envergure et à l’arrestation de centaines de manifestants, dont plusieurs candidats de l’opposition.

Adoptés le 27 octobre 2005 par 23 organisations internationales au siège des Nations Unies à New York, la Déclaration de principes pour l’observation internationale d’élections et le Code de conduite à l’usage des observateurs électoraux internationaux stipulent que les droits des citoyens de voter et d’être élus lors de scrutins périodiques sont des droits fondamentaux internationalement reconnus.

Renseignements : Shaughn McArthur, 613-996-4600