This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Political Prisoner Nasrin Sotoudeh Release From Iranian Prison

Hon. A. Raynell Andreychuk: Honourable senators, on May 28, 2013, I rose in this place to draw attention to the plight of Nasrin Sotoudeh. It was Iran Accountability Week, and I was speaking under my association with the Iranian Political Prisoner Global Advocacy Project.

 This is an initiative of the Inter-Parliamentary Group for Human Rights in Iran, co-founded by Canadian Member of Parliament Irwin Cotler and U.S. Senator Mark Kirk. The initiative pairs parliamentarians around the world with Iranian political prisoners to raise awareness about their cases.

As a fellow lawyer, I had been paired with Nasrin Sotoudeh. When I rose in May, Ms. Sotoudeh was serving a six-year sentence for ‘‘spreading propaganda’’ and ‘‘conspiring to harm state  security.’’

Today, I’m pleased to inform you that on September 18, Ms. Sotoudeh was released from prison.  She rejoined her family just in time to send her youngest child off to school for the first time. She  was among some 80 political prisoners released by the Iranian authorities on that day.

Ahmed Shaheed, the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the  Islamic Republic of Iran, welcomed the move, but he also said:

    It is vital for the country’s future that the voices of all its citizens are permitted to play their 

    rightful part in crafting an inclusive future for Iran in the coming years.

 Honourable senators, I invite you to join me in welcoming Nasrin Sotoudeh’s release and in urging  Iran to do more to empty its prisons of an estimated 2,600 prisoners of conscience, and to ensure  that the human rights of all Iranians are upheld under the rule of fair and impartial law.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Prisonnière Politique Nasrin Sotoudeh Sa Libération D’une Prison Iranienne

L’honorable A. Raynell Andreychuk : Honorables sénateurs, le 28 mai 2013, je vous ai parlé de ce  que vivait Nasrin Sotoudeh. C’était la Semaine de la responsabilisation de l’Iran, et j’ai parlé de mon  association avec le Projet mondial de défense des prisonniers politiques iraniens.

C’est une initiative du Groupe interparlementaire pour les droits de la personne en Iran, cofondé par  Irwin Cotler, un député canadien, et Mark Kirk, un sénateur américain. L’initiative jumelle des parlementaires de partout dans le monde avec des prisonniers politiques iraniens afin d’attirer l’attention sur leur situation.

J’aiété jumelée avec Nasrin Sotoudeh, car elle est avocate, comme moi. Lorsque j’ai pris la parole en mai, Mme Sotoudeh purgeait une peine de six ans pour avoir « fait de la propagande » et « comploté en vue de nuire à la sécurité de l’État ».

Je suis heureuse de vous informer que Mme Sotoudeh a été libérée le 18 septembre. Elle a retrouvé  sa famille juste à temps pour faire la première rentrée scolaire avec son plus jeune enfant. Elle  faisait partie des quelque 80 prisonniers politiques que les autorités iraniennes ont libérés ce jour-là.

Ahmed Shaheed, le rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur la situation des droits de la personne  dans la République islamique d’Iran, a salué la décision, mais a également déclaré ceci :

          Il est vital pour l’avenir du pays que l’ensemble des citoyens puissent faire entendre leur voix

          et soient autorisés à jouer leur rôle légitime dans l’élaboration d’un cadre politique inclusif en

          Iran.

Honorables sénateurs, je vous invite tous à vous joindre à moi pour saluer la libération de Nasrin  Sotoudeh et exhorter l’Iran à en faire davantage, à libérer les quelque 2 600 prisonniers de  conscience et à s’assurer que les droits de la personne de tous les Iraniens soient respectés en vertu  du principe de la primauté du droit équitable et impartial.