This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk honoured for promoting recognition of Ukrainian famine and genocide

 

The League of Ukrainian Canadians yesterday awarded Senator Raynell Andreychuk with the Mikhnovsky Medal of Merit, for her contribution towards a universal recognition of the Ukrainian Holodomor of 1932-1933 as an act of genocide by famine.

“I am humbled by this acknowledgement,” said Senator Andreychuk, who was also made an Honourary Member of the League of Ukrainian Canadians. “As we prepare to commemorate the 7th Holodomor Memorial Day this Saturday, I am proud that the Ukrainian Canadian community has helped raise awareness about the Holodomor amongst all Canadians.” 

The award was presented at a small ceremony on Parliament Hill. It was attended by Orest Steciw, President, and Borys Mykhaylets, Vice-President of the League of Ukrainian Canadians.

“Senator Andreychuk has been instrumental in initiating the process of Holodomor recognition on Parliament Hill, and we are eternally grateful to her for this,” said Steciw.

Senator Andreychuk introduced the resolution on Holodomor Ukraine Famine/Genocide in the Senate, which was adopted on June 19, 2003. She also sponsored Bill C-459, An Act to establish a Ukrainian Famine and Genocide (“Holodomor”) Memorial Day and to recognize the Ukrainian Famine of 1932-33 as an act of genocide, which received Royal Assent in May 2008.

The Mikhnovsky Medal of Merit is awarded to individuals for their enduring and outstanding service to community and humanitarian causes. It was created by the League of Ukrainian Canadians and the League of Ukrainian Canadian Women in honour of a renowned Ukrainian political leader, jurist and publicist Mykola Mikhnovsky (1873-1924), whose pivotal treatise, “Independent Ukraine,” earned his place in history as the father of the modern Ukrainian liberation movement.

Contact: Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk récompensée pour sa contribution à la reconnaissance de la famine et du génocide en Ukraine

Hier, la League of Ukrainian Canadians a décerné à la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk la médaille Mikhnovsky du mérite, en hommage à la contribution qu’elle a apportée à la reconnaissance universelle de l’Holodomor de 1932-1933 en Ukraine en tant que génocide par la famine.

« Je suis touchée par ce geste, a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk, qui a également été nommée membre honoraire de la League of Ukrainian Canadians. À l’approche du septième Jour commémoratif de l’Holodomor ce samedi, je suis fière des efforts de la communauté ukrainienne du Canada pour faire mieux connaître l’Holodomor au sein de la population canadienne. »

La remise du prix a eu lieu pendant une petite cérémonie sur la Colline du Parlement, en présence de M. Orest Steciw, président de la League of Ukrainian Canadians, et de M. Borys Mykhaylets, vice-président de la League.

« La sénatrice Andreychuk a joué un rôle de premier ordre dans la mise en marche du processus de reconnaissance de l’Holodomor sur la Colline du Parlement, et nous lui en serons éternellement reconnaissants », a indiqué M. Steciw. 

La sénatrice Andreychuk a présenté au Sénat la résolution concernant la famine génocide ukrainienne (« l’Holodomor »), qui a été adoptée le 19 juin 2003. Elle a aussi parrainé le projet de loi C-459, Loi instituant le Jour commémoratif de la famine et du génocide ukrainiens (« l’Holodomor ») et reconnaissant la famine ukrainienne de 1932-1933 comme un génocide, qui a reçu la sanction royale en mai 2008.

La médaille Mikhnovsky du mérite est décernée en reconnaissance d’un service durable et remarquable à la collectivité et à des causes humanitaires. Elle a été instituée par la League of Ukrainian Canadians et la League of Ukrainian Canadian Women à la mémoire d’un dirigeant politique ukrainien bien connu, le juriste et publicitaire Mykola Mikhnovsky (1873-1924), dont le traité marquant, « Ukraine indépendante », l’a fait passer à l’histoire et lui a valu d’être reconnu comme le père du mouvement moderne de libération de l’Ukraine.

Renseignements : Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600