This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk recognized for lifetime contributions to Ukrainian Canadian community

Senator Andreychuk recognized for Lifetime Contributions to Ukrainian Canadian community

The Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Association of Ottawa yesterday presented Senator Andreychuk with its Filip Konowal VC Lifetime Achievement Award, for her contributions to the development of the Ukrainian Canadian community.

“Ukrainian Canadians continue to distinguish themselves in all pursuits in communities across Canada,” said Senator Andreychuk. “It is an honour to be recognized as having contributed to these achievements, and by an association of individuals that exemplify Ukrainian Canadians’ ongoing success.”

UCPBA(O) President Michael Kostiuk, who presented the award at the Association’s Annual Christmas Dinner in Ottawa, made particular note of Senator Andreychuk’s role in securing formal recognition of the Ukrainian Famine and Genocide (“Holodomor”) in Canada.

“The Filip Konowal VC Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes substantial lifetime service to the Ukrainian Canadian Community,” said Mr. Kostiuk. “Senator Andreychuk represents the best of what it means to be a helpful Canadian, and a helpful Ukrainian-Canadian.” 

Contact: Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600

 

Background

Holodomor recognition

Senator Andreychuk introduced the resolution on Holodomor Ukraine Famine/Genocide in the Senate, which was adopted on June 19, 2003. She also sponsored Bill C-459, An Act to establish a Ukrainian Famine and Genocide (“Holodomor”) Memorial Day and to recognize the Ukrainian Famine of 1932-33 as an act of genocide, which received Royal Assent in May 2008.

The Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Association of Ottawa

The Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Association of Ottawa is a service organization dedicated to contributing to Canadian society by promoting good corporate citizenship and principles of volunteerism among its members, upholding and promote Ukrainian and Ukrainian Canadian culture, and facilitate and promote business and professional relationships with Ukraine and persons of Ukrainian heritage throughout the world.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk honorée pour sa contribution exceptionnelle à la communauté ukrainienne du Canada

L’Association des gens d’affaires et des professionnels ukraino-canadiens d’Ottawa a présenté hier à la sénatrice Andreychuk le prix Filip Konowal VC pour sa contribution au développement de la communauté ukrainienne du Canada. 

« Les Canadiens d’origine ukrainienne continuent de se distinguer dans tous les domaines partout au Canada », a déclaré la sénatrice Andreychuk. « C’est un honneur d’être reconnue comme ayant contribué à ces réalisations par une association dont les membres témoignent de la réussite continue des Canadiens d’origine ukrainienne. »

Le président de l’Association, Michael Kostiuk, a remis le prix lors du dîner annuel de Noël de l’Association à Ottawa, et il a souligné le rôle que la sénatrice Andreychuk a joué dans la reconnaissance officielle de la famine et du génocide ukrainiens (« l’Holodomor ») au Canada.

« Le prix d’excellence Filip Konowal VC pour l’ensemble des réalisations récompense les services rendus au fil des ans à la communauté ukrainienne du Canada », a déclaré M. Kostiuk. « La sénatrice Andreychuk personnifie le mieux ce que signifie être un Canadien serviable, et un Canadien d’origine ukrainienne serviable. » 

Renseignements : Shaughn McArthur, 613-996-4600

 

Document d’information

Reconnaissance de l’Holodomor

La sénatrice Andreychuk a présenté au Sénat la résolution concernant l’Holodomor, c’est-à-dire la famine et le génocide ukrainiens, qui a été adoptée le 19 juin 2003. Elle a aussi parrainé le projet de loi C-459, Loi instituant le Jour commémoratif de la famine et du génocide ukrainiens (« l’Holodomor ») et reconnaissant la famine ukrainienne de 1932-1933 comme un génocide, qui a reçu la sanction royale en mai 2008.

L’Association des gens d’affaires et des professionnels ukraino-canadiens d’Ottawa

L’Association des gens d’affaires et des professionnels ukraino-canadiens d’Ottawa est un organisme de services déterminé à contribuer à la société canadienne en appuyant les valeurs de responsabilité sociale des entreprises et les principes du bénévolat parmi ses membres, en défendant et en mettant en valeur la culture ukrainienne et la culture ukrainienne-canadienne, et en favorisant et en encourageant les relations commerciales et professionnelles avec l’Ukraine et les personnes d’origine ukrainienne partout dans le monde