This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk commemorates victims of the Maidan

Rising in the Senate on 19 February 2015, Senator Andreychuk commemorated the first anniversary since the mass shooting of Euromaidan protesters on the streets of Kyiv, Ukraine.

“Between February 18th and 20th, 2014, Special Forces under the command of President Yanukovich opened fire on unarmed protesters in Kyiv,” she said; “More than one-hundred protesters had lost their lives by the time the guns fell silent.”

The killings led to the collapse of the government of President Yanukovich, and unleashed a conflict that continues in eastern Ukraine today, fuelled by Russian soldiers, rubles and military equipment.

“Defying international laws and norms, the Kremlin repeatedly flouted Russia’s international commitments,” said Senator Andreychuk, who noted the ongoing suffering of Ukrainians, and the repression of Crimean Tatars and Russians.

“As this unnecessary crisis continues, let us pause to remember those who died one year ago on the Maidan,” she added.

“Let us honour the memory of those who sacrificed their lives in hope for a better future for their country and their region. And let us commit to supporting their vision of a future Ukraine that is sovereign, peaceful, rights-respecting, democratic, and free!”

Senator Andreychuk’s full statement on the Anniversary of the Euromaidan Shootings can be read here: http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/412/Debates/119db_2015-02-19-e.htm#3

Contact: Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La sénatrice Andreychuk honore la mémoire des victimes de Maïdan

Prenant la parole au Sénat le 19 février 2015, la sénatrice Andreychuk a souligné le premier anniversaire de la fusillade des manifestants du mouvement Euromaïdan dans les rues de Kiev en Ukraine.

« Du 18 au 20 février 2014, les forces spéciales sous le commandement du président Ianoukovitch ont ouvert le feu sur des manifestants non armés à Kiev », a déclaré la sénatrice. « Quand les armes se sont tues, plus de cent manifestants avaient perdu la vie. »

La tuerie a entraîné la chute du gouvernement du président Ianoukovitch et déclenché un conflit qui perdure dans l’Est de l’Ukraine et qu’exacerbent les soldats russes, les roubles et l’équipement militaire.

« En défiant les normes et les lois internationales, le Kremlin a renié à maintes reprises ses engagements internationaux », a ajouté Mme Andreychuk en soulignant la souffrance dans laquelle continuent de vivre les Ukrainiens et la répression que subissent les Tatars et les Russes de Crimée. 

« Alors que se poursuit cette crise injustifiée, prenons un moment pour penser aux personnes qui ont perdu la vie sur la place Maïdan il y a un an. »

« Honorons la mémoire de ceux qui ont sacrifié leur vie dans l’espoir d’assurer un avenir meilleur à leur pays et à leur région. Engageons-nous à appuyer leur vision d’une Ukraine souveraine, pacifique, respectueuse des droits, démocratique et libre! »

Vous pouvez lire dans son intégralité la déclaration de la sénatrice Andreychuk concernant l’anniversaire de la fusillade de l’EuroMaïdan sur la page suivante : http://www.parl.gc.ca/Content/Sen/Chamber/412/Debates/119db_2015-02-19-f.htm#3

Renseignements : Shaughn McArthur 613-996-4600