This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Study on Economic and Political Developments in the Republic of Turkey

Second Report of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Committee —Debate Continued

On the Order:

Resuming debate on the motion of the Honourable Senator Fortin-Duplessis, seconded by the Honourable Senator Unger, for the adoption of the second report of the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade entitled: Building Bridges: Canada-Turkey Relations and Beyond, tabled in the Senate on November 28, 2013.

Hon. A. Raynell Andreychuk: Honourable senators, I rise to speak to the report of the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade, entitled Building Bridges: Canada-Turkey Relations and Beyond.

This report was first tabled last June, but with Parliament preparing to adjourn for the summer, some senators did not get a chance to speak to the report. That is why the committee agreed to re-table it this session.

I thank Senator Fortin-Duplessis for her detailed speech on historical and present-day relations between Canada and Turkey, and the tremendous potential we now face to update and move those relations forward.

Although I spoke to the report in some detail in June, I would like to add a few words about some recent achievements that have been attributed to our report.

The leading recommendation in our report was that the Government of Canada maintain consistent, high-level political engagement with the Government of the Republic of Turkey. Our committee viewed such engagement as:

... critical to building the Canada-Turkey relationship, increasing Canada's visibility and helping Canadian businesses to position themselves for success in Turkey.

We placed this recommendation first in our report on the basis that political engagement would underpin the other initiatives that would foster a robust Canada-Turkey commercial relationship.

Many senators will be aware that the Minister of International Trade travelled to Turkey in August, followed by the Minister of Foreign Affairs in September. On his trip, Minister Baird met with the President of Turkey and Minister of Foreign Affairs. They discussed regional security issues and Canada's longstanding partnership with Turkey in NATO.

Minister Baird also announced that Canada would upgrade the status of its mission in Istanbul from a consulate to a consulate general.

Minister Fast, for his part, met with Turkey's Minister of Economy, government officials and business leaders. He announced a number of initiatives that respond directly to recommendations made in our committee's report. These include support for the conclusion of explanatory or exploratory talks toward a Canada-Turkey free trade agreement; the creation of a joint economic and trade committee; discussions on expanding air transport services; and a commitment to strengthen exchanges in education and technology.

Following the minister's trip, I was informed by his office that our committee's report was repeatedly highlighted by government officials and business leaders in Turkey as a viable blueprint for furthering Canada-Turkey relations.

A final recent development that I would like to bring to senators' attention addresses our committee's recommendation that the Government of Canada identify Turkey as a strategic commercial priority.

Many senators will be aware that the government released its new Global Markets Action Plan in November. The plan aims to focus the government's efforts on key foreign markets that hold the greatest potential for Canadian business. It identifies Turkey as a target emerging market with broad Canadian interests.

Of course, our committee cannot take credit for this inclusion, but I believe it is fair to say that our committee has helped generate a renewed emphasis on Turkey in Canada's commercial relations abroad.

An overarching message of our committee's report was that Canada is not too late to broaden its relations with Turkey, and that:

... Canada's strategic priorities and commercial strengths coincide with Turkey's foreign policy and trade objectives, as well as its commodity and import needs.

From what we have seen in the months since this report was first tabled, the message has been noted by the government and it is being acted on by the ministers whose continued attention is critical in helping the Canada-Turkey relationship to reach its full potential. I think I speak on behalf of all committee members when I say that I hope our report continues to provide guidance toward this end.

I believe and I have heard, and we have heard today, with some members of our committee dealing with a delegation from Turkey, that our report was very instrumental in forming their side of the debate and dialogue with Canada.

If anyone needs to know the breadth and depth of involvement and success of Senate committees, I believe that the Canada-Turkey report is one that should be used over and over again. It is not one that received much publicity in the press, but that was not our aim. Our aim was to change foreign policy and I believe that we were very instrumental in it. This is the value of this institution and the value of our committees, and I hope that the press will note that as they work towards finding out more about the Senate.

I'm asking to amend the motion put forward very kindly by Senator Fortin-Duplessis. She moved the motion that this report be accepted, but I would like to amend it so we get a full response from the government. I trust that the amendment will be unanimously accepted by the Senate.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

L'étude sur la situation économique et politique dans la République turque

Deuxième rapport du Comité des affaires étrangères et du commerce international—Suite du débat

L'ordre du jour appelle :

Reprise du débat sur la motion de l'honorable sénatrice Fortin-Duplessis, appuyée par l'honorable sénatrice Unger, tendant à l'adoption du deuxième rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international, intitulé Jeter des ponts : les liens entre le Canada et la Turquie et leur potentiel, déposé au Sénat le 28 novembre 2013.

L'honorable A. Raynell Andreychuk : Honorables sénateurs, j'interviens au sujet du rapport du Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international, intitulé Jeter des ponts : les liens entre le Canada et la Turquie et leur potentiel.

Le rapport a d'abord été présenté en juin, mais comme le Parlement se préparait à s'ajourner pour l'été, certains sénateurs n'ont pas eu l'occasion de prendre la parole à son sujet. C'est pourquoi le comité a accepté de le déposer de nouveau au cours de cette session-ci.

Je remercie d'ailleurs la sénatrice Fortin-Duplessis de son état des lieux détaillé sur les relations entre le Canada et la Turquie au fil du temps. Elle nous a donné une idée du vaste potentiel que réservent la redéfinition et le resserrement de ces relations.

Même si j'ai prononcé un long discours sur le rapport, en juin, je tiens à dire quelques mots sur certaines réalisations récentes qui en découleraient.

La principale recommandation du rapport veut que le gouvernement du Canada maintienne un engagement constant à l'égard des plus hautes instances politiques du gouvernement de la République turque, car, de l'avis du comité, c'est :

[...] essentiel [...] pour renforcer la relation entre le Canada et la Turquie, améliorer la visibilité du Canada et aider les entreprises canadiennes à réussir en Turquie.

Si cette recommandation figure en tête de notre rapport, c'est parce que l'engagement politique doit sous-tendre toutes les initiatives favorisant une relation commerciale étroite entre le Canada et la République turque.

Comme beaucoup de sénateurs le savent, le ministre du Commerce international s'est rendu en Turquie en août et y a été suivi par le ministre des Affaires étrangères en septembre. Pendant son séjour, le ministre Baird s'est entretenu avec le président et le ministre des Affaires étrangères de la Turquie. Ils ont discuté de questions liées à la sécurité régionale et du long partenariat du Canada avec la Turquie au sein de l'OTAN.

Le ministre Baird a également annoncé que le Canada rehausserait le statut de sa mission à Istanbul, le faisant passer de consulat à consulat général.

Pour sa part, le ministre Fast a eu un entretien avec le ministre turc de l'Économie ainsi qu'avec des fonctionnaires et des chefs de file du monde des affaires. Il a annoncé un certain nombre d'initiatives qui s'inscrivent directement dans l'esprit des recommandations formulées dans le rapport de notre comité. Elles comprennent le lancement de discussions exploratoires visant la conclusion d'un accord de libre-échange Canada-Turquie, la création d'un comité mixte sur l'économie et le commerce, la discussion des possibilités d'expansion des services de transport aérien et l'engagement à renforcer les échanges dans les domaines de l'éducation et de la technologie.

Après la visite du ministre, son cabinet m'a informé que le rapport de notre comité a été mis en évidence à plusieurs reprises par les fonctionnaires et les dirigeants du monde des affaires de la Turquie, comme plan possible de renforcement des relations Canada- Turquie.

Je voudrais enfin attirer l'attention des sénateurs sur la recommandation de notre comité invitant le gouvernement du Canada à désigner la Turquie comme priorité commerciale stratégique.

Comme beaucoup de sénateurs le savent, le gouvernement a publié en novembre son nouveau Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux. Le plan a pour objet de concentrer les efforts du gouvernement sur les marchés étrangers clés qui offrent le plus de perspectives aux entreprises canadiennes. Il désigne la Turquie comme marché émergent cible où le Canada a des intérêts généraux.

Bien entendu, notre comité ne peut pas s'attribuer le mérite de cette désignation, mais je crois qu'il serait juste de dire qu'il a suscité un renouveau d'intérêt pour la Turquie dans le cadre des relations commerciales du Canada à l'étranger.

Il faut notamment retenir du rapport du comité qu'il n'est pas trop tard pour que le Canada intensifie ses relations avec la Turquie et que :

[...] les priorités stratégiques et les forces commerciales du Canada coïncident avec la politique étrangère et les objectifs commerciaux de la Turquie, ainsi qu'avec ses besoins au chapitre des marchandises et des importations.

Nous avons pu constater dans les mois qui ont suivi le dépôt du rapport que le gouvernement a compris le message et que les ministres y ont donné suite; d'ailleurs, si l'on veut que les relations Canada-Turquie atteignent leur plein potentiel, il essentiel que les ministres continuent de faire leur part. Je pense parler au nom de tous les membres du comité en affirmant espérer que notre rapport puisse leur servir de guide.

Étant donné ce que j'ai entendu aujourd'hui et vu ce qui est ressorti d'une réunion entre des membres du comité et une délégation de la Turquie, je crois que notre rapport s'est révélé très utile à la Turquie, qui s'en est inspirée pour nourrir sa position ainsi que son dialogue avec le Canada.

Quiconque cherche à jauger toute l'importance et l'influence des travaux des comités devrait examiner le rapport Canada-Turquie. Le rapport n'a pas fait les manchettes, mais ce n'était pas notre objectif. Nous souhaitions plutôt modifier la politique étrangère, et je crois que nous avons joué un rôle de premier plan à cet égard. Voilà la valeur de notre institution et de ses comités, et j'espère que les médias s'en rendront compte alors même qu'ils essaient d'en savoir davantage sur le Sénat.

Je demande donc d'amender la motion que la sénatrice Fortin- Duplessis a très gentiment présentée. Elle a proposé dans sa motion que le rapport soit adopté, mais j'aimerais l'amender pour que le gouvernement soit tenu de nous fournir une réponse en bonne et due forme. J'espère que les sénateurs accepteront l'amendement à l'unanimité.