This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Ihor W. Bardyn Awarded Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal

Ihor Bardyn received Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal and certificate from Senator Andreychuk, as CUPP 2013 interns look on

 

On October 24, 2013, Mr. Ihor Walter Bardyn was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal at a ceremony on Parliament Hill.

The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal recognizes Canadians whose service to Canada and the world reflects the dedication demonstrated by Her Majesty’s 60 years on the throne.

“It is a privilege to present this honour to someone who has done so much to promote academic and cultural exchange, and the advancement civic and democratic values, both here in Canada and abroad,” said Senator Raynell Andreychuk, who nominated Mr. Bardyn for the award.  “Over 23 years, Mr. Bardyn has dedicated himself to spreading the values of good governance among Ukrainian youth through the Canada Ukraine Parliamentary Internship Program.”

The Canada Ukraine Parliamentary Internship Programme (CUPP), which Mr. Bardyn founded and has directed since 1991, offers opportunities for students from Ukraine, the Ukrainian Diasporas of Western Europe, Belarus, Georgia, Russia and Canada to experience and learn about Canadian Parliamentary democracy through internships in the offices of Senators and Members of Parliament.

Some 35 CUPP interns attended the ceremony on Parliament Hill.

A practicing lawyer from Toronto, Mr. Bardyn’s contributions to Ukrainian and Canadian history, culture, education and civics also include his work towards the establishment of the Chair of Ukrainian Studies at the University of Toronto, and the World Congress of Ukrainian Jurists (WCUJ).

Mr. Bardyn also served as Chair of the Ukrainian Canadian Congress Redress Committee, which helped establish the historical and legal basis, and economic losses, suffered by Ukrainian Canadians interned during the First World War.

He also authored the Trust Agreement for the establishment of the Metropolitan Andrei Sheptytsky Institute of Eastern Christian Studies at St. Paul University in Ottawa, where he served for nine years as a Councillor on the University’s Council of Administration.

Mr. Bardyn was recently elected President of the Ukrainian National Federation of Canada.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Ihor W. Bardyn REÇOIT LA MÉDAILLE DU JUBILÉ DE DIAMANT DE LA REINE Elizabeth II

Ihor Bardyn received Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal and certificate from Senator Andreychuk, as CUPP 2013 interns look on

Le 24 octobre 2013, la médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II a été décernée à M. Ihor Walter Bardyn lors d’une cérémonie qui s’est déroulée sur la Colline du Parlement.

La médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II reconnaît les Canadiens dont les services rendus au Canada et au monde traduisent le dévouement manifesté par les 60 ans de règne de Sa Majesté.  

« C’est un privilège d’honorer ainsi quelqu’un qui a tant fait pour promouvoir les échanges universitaires et culturels ainsi que l’avancement des valeurs civiques et démocratiques au Canada et à l’étranger », a déclaré la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk, qui a proposé la candidature de M. Bardyn. « Depuis 23 ans, M. Bardyn se dévoue pour propager les valeurs de la bonne gouvernance chez les jeunes Ukrainiens dans le cadre du Programme de stage parlementaire Canada-Ukraine. »

Le Programme de stage parlementaire Canada-Ukraine , créé par M. Bardyn en 1991 et dirigé par lui depuis,  offre à des étudiants ukrainiens, de la diaspora ukrainienne en Europe occidentale, du Bélarus, de la Géorgie, de la Russie et du Canada l’occasion de se renseigner au sujet de la démocratie parlementaire canadienne et d’en faire l’expérience en travaillant comme stagiaires dans les bureaux de sénateurs et de députés.

Environ 35 stagiaires ont assisté à la cérémonie sur la Colline du Parlement.

M. Bardyn est un avocat pratiquant à Toronto. Dans le cadre de ses contributions à l’histoire, la culture, l’éducation et l’éducation civique ukrainiennes et canadiennes, il a établi la Chaire des études ukrainiennes à l’Université de Toronto ainsi que le World Congress of Ukrainian Jurists (WCUJ).

M. Bardyn a également présidé l’Ukrainian Canadian Congress Redress Committee, qui a contribué à démontrer le fondement historique et juridique de l’injustice et des pertes économiques subies par les Canadiens d’origine ukrainienne internés pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Il est aussi l’auteur d’un accord de fiducie pour la création de l’Institut Métropolite Andrey Sheptytsky pour l’étude du christianisme oriental à l’Université Saint-Paul, à Ottawa et il a siégé au conseil d’administration de l’Université à titre de conseiller pendant neuf ans.

M. Bardyn a récemment été élu président de la Ukrainian National Federation of Canada.