This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Release of stamp honouring Paul Yuzyk, Father of Multiculturalism, celebrated at the Senate of Canada

 

On Thursday, October 24, the release of a new stamp commemorating the late Honourable Paul Yuzyk was celebrated at the Senate of Canada.

“I am proud to welcome the release of a stamp commemorating this great Canadian,” said Senator Raynell Andreychuk, who hosted the ceremony. “The principle of ‘unity in diversity,’ which Senator Yuzyk helped transform into policy, is one of our great strengths and the envy of others around the world.”

Senator Yuzyk is recognized for his role in underlining the contributions of all Canadians in the nation-building process and in establishing multiculturalism as one of the fundamental characteristics of Canadian heritage and identity. This year the Ukrainian Collectibles Society of Toronto, a Chapter of the Ukrainian Philatelic and Numismatic Society, undertook to design a Canada Post Picture Postage Permanent Stamp honouring the late Senator Paul Yuzyk for his role in shaping the history of Canada. The stamp will be officially released on October 26, 2013.

“Senator Paul Yuzyk is best remembered as the father of Canadian multiculturalism. I am very pleased that since 2009, the Government of Canada’s annual award recognizing outstanding contributions to multiculturalism bears his name, and that his important legacy continues to be highlighted through initiatives such as this commemorative stamp,” said the Honourable Jason Kenney, P.C., MP, Minister of Employment and Social Development and Minister for Multiculturalism, who participated in the event.

Senator Yuzyk’s daughters, Vera Yuzyk, Vicki Karpiak and Eve Yuzyk-Duravetz attended the ceremony on Parliament Hill. Also in attendance were  Mark Stelmacovich, VP of the Ukrainian Philatelic and Numismatic Society; Ihor Bardyn, President of the Ukrainian National Federation of Canada (UNF); and Paul Migus, Director, UNF Ottawa-Gatineau.

Dr. Paul Yuzyk, professor of history, author and community leader, was called to the Senate in February 1963 on the advice of Prime Minister John G. Diefenbaker. In his maiden speech in the Senate, Senator Yuzyk called for an all-inclusive Canadian identity:

“The greater Canada that is in our power to make will be built not on uniformity but on continuing diversity,” he said.

Senator Yuzyk also predicted that Canada would become a role model for the world facing similar immigration and integration challenges.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Le Sénat Du Canada souligne le dévoilement d’un timbre en hommage au Père Du Multiculturalisme, Paul Yuzyk

 

Le jeudi 24 octobre 2013, le dévoilement d’un nouveau timbre à la mémoire de l’honorable Paul Yuzyk a été souligné au Sénat du Canada.

« Je suis fière de saluer l’arrivée d’un timbre commémorant ce grand Canadien », a déclaré l’hôtesse de la cérémonie, la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk. Le principe de l’“unité dans la diversité”, que le sénateur Yuzyk a contribué à transformer en politique, est l’une de nos grandes forces qui fait l’envie des autres pays. »

Le sénateur Yuzyk est reconnu pour son rôle dans la promotion des contributions de tous les Canadiens dans le processus d'édification de la nation et à établir le multiculturalisme comme l'une des caractéristiques fondamentales de l'identité et du patrimoine canadiens. Cette année, l’Ukrainian Collectibles Society de Toronto, une section de la société philatéliste et numismatique ukrainienne, a conçu un timbre-photo  permanent de Postes Canada en l’honneur du regretté sénateur Paul Yuzyk pour sa contribution à l’histoire du Canada. Le timbre sera officiellement mis en vente le 26 octobre 2013.

 « Le sénateur Paul Yuzyk est sans doute mieux connu comme le père du multiculturalisme canadien. Je suis très heureux que, depuis 2009, le prix annuel du gouvernement du Canada reconnaissant les contributions exceptionnelles au multiculturalisme porte son nom et que son legs important continue d’être souligné grâce à des initiatives telles que ce timbre commémoratif », a déclaré l’honorable Jason Kenney, C.P., député, ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social et ministre du Multiculturalisme, qui a participé à l'événement.

Les enfants du sénateur, Mme Vera Yuzyk, Mme Vicki Karpiak et Mme Eve Yuzyk-Duravetz, étaient présentes à la cérémonie qui s’est déroulée sur la Colline du Parlement. Le vice-président de la société philatéliste et numismatique ukrainienne, M. Mark Stelmacovich, et le président  de la Fédération nationale ukrainienne du Canada, M. Ihor Bardyn, accompagné du directeur du bureau de la Fédération pour Ottawa et Gatineau, M. Paul Migus, étaient également au nombre des invités.

Professeur d’histoire, auteur et chef de file dans sa communauté, Paul Yuzyk a été nommé au Sénat en février 1963 sur avis du premier ministre John G. Diefenbaker. Dans son discours inaugural, le sénateur Yuzik a préconisé une identité canadienne inclusive :

« C’est à partir, non pas de l’uniformité, mais d’une diversité véritable, que nous pouvons façonner un pays encore plus grand », a-t-il déclaré.

Il a aussi prédit que le Canada deviendrait un modèle pour les autres pays faisant face à des défis semblables en matière d’immigration et d’intégration.