This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senator Andreychuk awarded Ukrainian World Congress’ highest recognition

On November 9th, 2013, Senator A. Raynell Andreychuk was presented the St. Volodymyr the Great medal at a banquet hosted by the Ukrainian Canadian Congress in Toronto.

“Senator Andreychuk is an ardent supporter of the Ukrainian World Congress and its initiatives in defense of fundamental human rights and freedoms, raising awareness of the Ukrainian Famine-Genocide of 1932-33, and furthering democracy in Ukraine,” said UWC President Eugene Czolij. “Her contribution to the advancement of the Ukrainian Community in Canada and worldwide is duly noted and greatly appreciated.”

The St. Volodymyr the Great medal is the highest award conferred by Ukrainian World Congress (UWC). It is given in recognition of an especially meritorious contribution in promoting Ukrainian heritage, identity and values, as well as for other significant endeavors.

“I am extremely honoured and humbled by this recognition,” said Senator Andreychuk. “Its timing is particularly meaningful to me, as this November Ukrainians in Canada and around the world commemorate the 80th anniversary of the Holodomor.”

Senator Andreychuk is an active member of the Ukrainian Canadian community from Saskatchewan. In 2003, she introduced a motion in the Senate requesting the Government of Canada to recognize the Ukrainian Famine of 1932-33 as an act of genocide. The motion was unanimously adopted by the Senate of Canada. In 2008, she sponsored in the Senate Bill C-459, An Act to establish a Ukrainian Famine and Genocide ("Holodomor") Memorial Day and to recognize the Ukrainian Famine of 1932-33 as an act of genocide.

The Ukrainian World Congress (UWC) is the international coordinating body for Ukrainian communities in the diaspora representing the interests of over 20 million Ukrainians. The UWC has member organizations in 33 countries and ties with Ukrainians in 14 additional countries. Founded in 1967 as a non-profit corporation, the UWC was recognized in 2003 by the United Nations Economic and Social Council as a non-governmental organization (NGO) with special consultative status.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Sénatrice Andreychuk Reçoit La plus haute distinction du Congrès mondial Des Ukrainiens

Le 9 novembre 2013, la sénatrice A. Raynell Andreychuk s’est vu remettre la médaille de saint Vladimir le Grand lors d’un banquet offert par le Congrès des Ukrainiens-Canadiens, à Toronto.

« La sénatrice Andreychuk a toujours appuyé sans réserve le Congrès mondial des Ukrainiens dans ses initiatives visant à défendre les libertés et droits fondamentaux de la personne, à sensibiliser davantage la population sur la famine et le génocide ukrainiens de 1932-1933, et à faire avancer la démocratie en Ukraine », de déclarer Eugene Czolij, président du Congrès mondial des Ukrainiens (UWC). « Nous ne pouvons que saluer son apport à l’avancement de la communauté ukrainienne au Canada et dans le monde, et lui manifester notre vive reconnaissance. »

La médaille de saint Vladimir le Grand est la plus haute distinction conférée par l’UWC en hommage à une contribution particulièrement méritoire à la promotion de l’identité, des valeurs et du patrimoine ukrainiens, ainsi qu’à d’autres apports d’importance.

« Je suis extrêmement touchée et honorée par ce témoignage de reconnaissance », exprime la sénatrice Andreychuk. « La recevoir en ce moment revêt un sens tout particulier pour moi, puisqu’en ce mois de novembre, les Ukrainiens au Canada et dans le monde commémorent le 80e anniversaire de l’Holodomor. »

Membre active de la communauté canado-ukrainienne de la Saskatchewan, la sénatrice Andreychuk a présenté au Sénat, en 2003, une motion demandant au gouvernement du Canada de reconnaître la famine de 1932 et 1933 en Ukraine comme un acte de génocide. Cette motion a été adoptée à l’unanimité par le Sénat du Canada. En 2008, elle a parrainé au Sénat le projet de loi C-459, Loi instituant le Jour commémoratif de la famine et du génocide ukrainiens (« l’Holodomor ») et reconnaissant la famine ukrainienne de 1932-1933 comme un génocide.

Organisme international de coordination pour les communautés ukrainiennes de la diaspora, le Congrès mondial des Ukrainiens (UWC) représente les intérêts de plus de 20 millions d’Ukrainiens. Il compte parmi ses membres des organisations de 33 pays et entretient des liens avec des Ukrainiens de 14 autres pays. Fondé en 1967 à titre de société sans but lucratif, l’UWC a été reconnu par le Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies en 2003 comme une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) dotée du statut consultatif spécial.